problem with cios installer

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kingsking56, May 31, 2011.

May 31, 2011
  1. kingsking56
    OP

    Newcomer kingsking56 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    ok, so now when i use waninkokos cios installer rev17 with ios 36 (trucha) the cios installation says 'error -2011'
    as you can see i am new to this, so i would like some help. my wii is a 4.3u. i got it from america. its serial starts with lu11. and even when i use wad installer it returns with the same error on ios 36 and loses connection with remote on 249.
     
  2. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Stop what you are doing.

    Use Modmii. It's in the hacking stickies.
     
  3. kingsking56
    OP

    Newcomer kingsking56 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    i got it, i didnt install ios 236 properly. apparently i got stuck on step 2 after pressing 1. i now have ios 249 rev17 and i found my answer. thanks anyway.
     
  4. Ryoku83

    Member Ryoku83 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Canada
    Rev17 is pretty outdated, you should install davebaol's revised dx2 version of waninkoko cIOS http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=277659
     
  5. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That's what I meant with less words...lol!
     
  6. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I still keep rev17 in 249 for compatibility with old apps. I use hermes for all my USB loading, so it's not a problem there.
     
  7. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    d2x4 rev21 base38 should work with all your older apps, USB, triforce, etc
     
  8. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I'll probably take a look at that, thanks. I have tried rev18 to rev20 with some of my old apps, and they didn't work, but I got tired of testing after that. I don't ever use 249 for USB loading (hermes conquers all!) so there isn't that much point in my updating, but it's good to know.
     
  9. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    D2X4 d2x v??is a modified ciosX.
    There's no need for staying on old revs, except rev 14 in Uneek for savegamemanager compat.
     
  10. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    I do the same...but for HDD compatibility. Something in the cIOSX series [r18+] cIOSes isn't compatible with my HDD [​IMG]
     
  11. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    They didn't work too well with my old HDD (again, can't speak for the very latest versions). That's one reason I started using hermes for all USB loading. I didn't see why I should just use them as alternatives like a lot of guides say, when they work with everything to begin with. I continue to use them with my new HDD as well.
     
  12. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    @joostin.

    Check the 2dx cios thread.
    V6 beta is out and fixes ALL ios reloading games WITHOUT using alt.dol method.

    Also Mighty Channels is fully compatible with this cios, and enables almost 100% Wiiware loading.
    It's really a breakthrough is Cios. It means ALL games can be loaded, even previously problem games work 100%, like metroid prime trilogy.
     
  13. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, I didn't know that. I thought it was a fix for like two random games and disc loading only. I'm glad I was wrong. I've been playing MPT from the disc most of the time, and I hate the loading times between rooms.

    Hielkenator, I owe you my soul! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page