Problem playing backup!

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by OGTiago, May 18, 2010.

May 18, 2010

Problem playing backup! by OGTiago at 12:06 AM (1,774 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. OGTiago
    OP

    Member OGTiago GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    London, England Rank: Temp God
    Country:
    Portugal
    I just recently hacked my Wii (3.4). Used that cIOS222 v4 installer, and cIOSX rev17 installer (you guys like to know that). Followed some guides as indicated.

    When playing Mario Galaxy, it freezes in the same spot.

    -

    I tried USB Loader GX version 1.0, and uLoader version 5.0. Both freeze in the exact same place. Is this likely to be a game problem? The game is playing off a 8GB USB, I used WBFS 3.0, I formatted to WBFS fine, transferred the game fine, it got scrubbed by WBFS to 3.7GB.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    You have 3 problems:
    - You are using cIOS222 rev4, not rev5
    - You are playing off a flash drive (they are known to be bad with Wiis)
    - You are using WBFS

    To remedy:

    Install the lastest cIOS versions and format your flash drive to FAT32 if you can't use another device.
    Also try using SuperDump (v1.2 is best) to get an ISO (hopefully a good dump) and transfer it to your flash drive that way.
    Also, GX sucks. Use Configurable. At first, GX seems like heaven, then it locks you out, then it corrupts your SD Card, then it stops working.
     
  3. OGTiago
    OP

    Member OGTiago GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    London, England Rank: Temp God
    Country:
    Portugal
  4. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    it is likely to be a game problem, i used a 8GB usb pen myself in the past in WBFS as well and in GX as well,

    and i can tell you that it worked perfect in evry game that i tested,

    so dump and test another game to test
     
  5. OGTiago
    OP

    Member OGTiago GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    London, England Rank: Temp God
    Country:
    Portugal
    The game is PAL, I've heard NTSC version might be more stable?

    Do the loaders allow me to play games from other regions?
     
  6. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Likely a bad ISO.

    People shouldn't be blaming the loaders. Although I've had problems with GX it has usually come down to: Version of GX, version of cIOS or harware.

    You should be able to rip the original to the HDD and play a clean ISO.
     
  7. mopete27

    Newcomer mopete27 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    yes, i agree. i would say tweak the settings first and go from there. or at least that was my issue at first [​IMG]
     
  8. YellowYoYos

    Member YellowYoYos GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    United States
    OGTiago

    I love you

    /yoyos
     
  9. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    cool Tiago

    u have a fan [​IMG]

    i bet it's the name that attracts

    tenho o mesmo nome tambem [​IMG]
     
  10. piola

    Newcomer piola Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Hi Tiago, my galaxy is a pal version. It works very well with configurable usb loader and hermes cios 222 rev 5.

    Try another iso.

    Portuguese Translate:

    Oi tiago, provavelmente tens um ficheiro iso com defeito, tenta arranjar outro do mesmo jogo (de uma fonte viavel) e tenta novamente. Usa o hermes cios 222 v5 e o configurable usb loader para jogares o jogo.

    Cumprimentos
     
  11. OGTiago
    OP

    Member OGTiago GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    London, England Rank: Temp God
    Country:
    Portugal
    That's fine, I speak "perfect" English [​IMG]

    Also, Configurable USB Loader froze in the same place, my Wii should run it fine.

    Lol, I was gonna install 222 Rev5, but I don't have my Wii connected to the internet yet (and I was too lazy to get get the files and do it on offline mode). That being said my other two games, New Super Mario Bros, and Tatsunoko vs Capcom work perfectly. So I won't complain much unless I keep getting consistent problems.
     
  12. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    NUS Auto Downloader (link in my signature) can set up your SD card with all the files saved to the right places for offline cIOS installation with the click of a couple buttons
     
  13. OGTiago
    OP

    Member OGTiago GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    London, England Rank: Temp God
    Country:
    Portugal
    And that package has cIOS 222 rev5?

    couldn't connect to wget
     
  14. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    couldn't connect to wget? check your firewall settings
     
  15. OGTiago
    OP

    Member OGTiago GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    London, England Rank: Temp God
    Country:
    Portugal
    Ok, it worked.

    Now cIOS installer 5 shows my 222 as v65535. Good? bad?
     
  16. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    cIOS222v5 is installed as version 65535, so that is normal if it is successful

    however, stub IOS222 is also version 65535, so that is normal if u screwed up

    use more words man (lol)!! Did u run the installer, did u install 222v5, where did u see v65535.
     
  17. OGTiago
    OP

    Member OGTiago GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    London, England Rank: Temp God
    Country:
    Portugal
    Sorry.

    Yes, I downloaded the files for 000000100000026v3867.

    I ran the installer for "Custom IOS 222 v65535 (Default)". It said I had to use IOS 38 to install. It was all successful.

    Before when I selected the IOS with Trucha bug (222) it said current IOS was 222 v4, now it says current IOS is 222 v65535.

    So I assume it's all good.

    Anyway, NSMB Wii and TvC still run fine, Mario Galaxy still crashes at the same spot. It just doesn't like my Wii, lol.
     
  18. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Sounds like you have a bad rip of the game
     
  19. OGTiago
    OP

    Member OGTiago GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    London, England Rank: Temp God
    Country:
    Portugal
    That's what I'm thinking, because it's always in the same exact spot. Then I can still access the menu (Wii doesn't crash, the game just doesn't play), then when I quit to the Wii menu it just stays blank and I have to turn off my Wii using the power button on the Wii.

    Anyway, thanks for all the help people.
     

Share This Page