Pro Action Replay DSi compability.

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by RyuKisargi, Oct 13, 2012.

Oct 13, 2012
  1. RyuKisargi
    OP

    Member RyuKisargi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    As the topic states, I pulled out my Pro Action Replay DSi to use with my 3DS. The website states that its incompatible, but I'm checking here to see if it's just to get me to buy a new one.

    Is there an update tool or anything I can use for it? Or should I just borrow a friends DSi and update it that way.
     
  2. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,732
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    According to CodeJunkies, it should be compatible with the 3DS, but surely has been blocked with a firmware update if it's undetected on your system.

    http://us.codejunkie...__EF001012.aspx

    The latest firmware it worked on was 4.4.0-10

    http://us.codejunkie...?article_id=451

    If it fails to boot, contact the tech support and await further updates.

    It would only work in DS Mode anyways - no 3DS/DSiEnhanced cheat codes.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. RyuKisargi
    OP

    Member RyuKisargi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    I plan on using it for Pokemon Black 2, I want a Victini.

    And thanks for the links, I guess I'm stuck using my ARDS on a friends DSi, I used the first one, downloaded an update, and lo and behold, it said that my AR is incompatible with a 3DS. I'm suprised it didn't tell me to buy a new one.
     
  4. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,732
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    That's a shame. The new one surely has modified hardware, hence the incompatibility. If you have a flashcart, you could always use Pokesav. If you *really* want that Pokemon, simply request one of the other members to "make" one for you and trade with you - Black 2/White 2 is compatible with Black/White trading, isn't it?
     
  5. RyuKisargi
    OP

    Member RyuKisargi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    I think it might be, but one of the friends in my group has a white DSL, so I'll just bring my PAR with me tommorow and use hers.

    And I don't have a flashcart, I honestly got my 3DS for Paper Mario and Animal Crossing, (( Plus my iPad was in danger of being broken, I traded it in during Gamestop's summer promotions and got $400 for the thing. Baseline model, too. ))

    I'm reasonably sure a flashcart wouldn't be a good idea, I'm waiting until the various hack-groups open up the 3DS and I can but ambassador games on it. >_>
     

Share This Page