Priiloader messed up Wii - PLEASE HELP!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by IlluminiX, Aug 29, 2010.

Aug 29, 2010
  1. IlluminiX
    OP

    Member IlluminiX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,

    Everything was going well - I have Wii Menu 4.1, Bootmii in Boot2, CIOS 17, IOS 58, HBC 1.0.8(latest), and Priiloader - Beta 0.5 rev 4(latest). Then I decided to install the latest version of Priiloader 0.5 - just released. When I got to the installer, it loaded and then I hit + to install and then I saw a garbled message on the screen and had no choice but to shut off my Wii.

    Turning it back on left it in a BRICK state. Fortunately Bootmii saves the day and I can get into the HBC and then reinstall the Wii Menu 4.1 wad. Then the Menu works again and so does the HBC. But, when I go to install Priiloader - the older version - it tells me my IOS58 is not ES_DIVERSIFY (or whatever) patched - which maybe it's not but that was never an issue before because IOS36 was.

    When I used Dop-Mii to patch IOS58, the HBC turned upside down because 58 is what the latest HBC runs off of. Reinstalling 58 unpatched fixed the upside down HBC fortunately. So while my Wii is pretty much operational, I do want to have Priiloader and I am looking for a way to get it at least back to the way it was (and my BootMii backups are so old that I'd rather not go back to them if I don't have to).

    Can someone please help?

    Thanks!
     


  2. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,554
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Install priiloader with the patched IOS58 and upside-down HBC. After this reinstall IOS58 without patches!
     
  3. IlluminiX
    OP

    Member IlluminiX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    United States
    I thought about doing that - but if there was a better way I was hoping to find that out. I wish I knew why Priiloader 0.5 final is the only Priiloader that brings upon a frozen garbled message when it loads. Maybe it is just me - but why would this be?
     
  4. LocoRoco

    Member LocoRoco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    Australia
    use multimod manager reload to ios249 and install it through mmm


    ps make a recent back up
     
  5. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,554
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
  6. IlluminiX
    OP

    Member IlluminiX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you all! I got Priiloader 0.5 final to install by holding down the B button to load the CIOS. I actually first did the MMM -> 249 method to install the older Priiloader 0.5 beta, but wanted to see if I could get the final version to work. Using MMM->249 and then loading 0.5 final resulted in a black screen freeze when loading it for some reason so that method wasn't going to work (tried a couple of times). Fortunately, you can hold B to have the same effect in Priiloader installer and the install went smoothly with no garbled text! [​IMG] Ahhh, back to normal!

    Thanks all!

    And btw, I am making a new Bootmii backup as we speak just in case! 8-)
     
  7. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
    what
    the
    fuck

    first of all, the 0.5 installer reloads to 36, NOT CIOS!
    second, why the fucking hell are you forcing priiloader to use 249?
    third, if you would have just copied the meta.xml from the zip as well im sure it would have worked just fine (deu to the option to reload to ios 36 tells me you didn't)
     
  8. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    exact same thing happened to me on a wii i just modded.

    I updated priiloader on my own personal wii using the lastest boot.dol file and it worked just fine no problems at all.

    I went to mod a friends wii today and as soon as i hit the + to install it the screen went to all gargled text.I shut the wii off and turn it back on and its a BRICK.I restart the wii into bootmii(as boot2) and go to HBC and reinstall the system menu wad and all is back to normal.I go back into HBC again to try priiloader again and the same thing happens again but not as fast.I can see that its moving the system menu ext.. and then all of a sudden it goes to all gargled text on the screen and its froze again.So i turn the wii off and then back on but this time it starts like normal so i shut the wii off and then turn it on again holding the reset button down and priiloader is there now.

    No idea why this happened.

    Before anyone asks YES I HAD THE META.XML file as well as the new boot.dol
     
  9. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Did a little more testing

    Did the exact same thing when trying to uninstall priiloader however the uninstall did work even though it was all gargled text.I thought maybe it was my sd card causing the problems so i reformatted it and still had the same issues with installing it.The odd thing is that the gargled text even happened when i just let priiloader sit.Priiloader would load to the "please wait intiliz.. screen" and then you get the A/+ install - uninstall options.If i just let it sit on this screen then about 10 seconds later the whole screen would go to the gargled text.

    To test it even more i used the same sd card again on my own personal wii and i uninstalled priiloader and then reinstalled it again without a single problem.

    Something is causing this but i have no clue.If anyone has any ideas i would love to hear it.I do have two wiis i can test this out on without no problem.The wii i had issues with tonight will be picked up tomorrow by a friend so i won't be able to test with it any further.
     
  10. IlluminiX
    OP

    Member IlluminiX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    United States
    WTF is wrong with you? Was anyone actually talking to you or you just decided to be an A$$ and stick your unbelievably small tool where it doesn't belong?

    Actually the installer will use the CIOS if you hold down the B button - something the installer tells you when you have installation problems. Considering this is a common problem with Priiloader 0.5 (Google code site under Issues), and I was able to use a workaround - there is no reason to butt-in. And the meta.xml file was in its proper place, so you are 0/3 on the genius meter (that's 0% for you non-geniuses out there = you, lulwut).
     
  11. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i'm glad you could install it, but as far as i know my bro took out the option of installing with cios :s so i thing you still have an old one. actually i'm sure as he took down the new one, cause of a bug that bricks wii's...

    other then that, you don't need to patch the ios 58 anymore as it works with a complete orignal ios 58...
     
  12. IlluminiX
    OP

    Member IlluminiX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    United States
    Your bro is Daco? Cool. 0.5 truly has the ability to install with the CIOS - I am sure of it, and that is the one I was using as I got bricked by that "bug."

    It may work with an unpatched IOS58 but I never got to try because of the garbled screen bug. The bug seems to be related to having your wireless internet settings OFF, as that is the common link among everyone who has reported it (mine is also). For some reason, holding B and using the CIOS avoids this bug even with no wireless, as that worked just fine for me!
     
  13. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    hmmm strange, but indeed the bug was related to the wireless internet settings... i'm glad it worked though...
     
  14. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    I think actually with .5 holding B down while pressing the install button uses a patched ios36 not a cios.
     
  15. d3monsting

    Member d3monsting GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    What's this box for
    Country:
    United States
    I've installed thie Priiloader 0.5 without trouble, however should I remove it and install 0.4? or is it only the installer that is unsafe?
     
  16. burritoboy9984

    Member burritoboy9984 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    Only the installer.

    -Erik
     
  17. apsukka

    Newcomer apsukka Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Finland
    Hi. I have a problem with my Wii. I cannot install priiloader. When I try to install priiloader I get a warning, here's the message.

    "WARNING: /title/00000001/00000002/content10000008b.app is reported as 0kb!
    Ignore priiloader "installation"?" etc...

    If I continue the installation, my system menu is gone "forever" and my Wii will only boot to priiloader. I can still access homebrew channel through priiloader. I can restore system menu by copying bootmii and backups to SD and restore the old backup. Here is a syscheck just before installing priiloader:


    Region: PAL
    System Menu 4.2E (v482)
    Hollywood v0x11
    Console ID: 63442696
    Boot2 v4

    Found 75 titles.
    Found 31 IOS on this console. 1 of them are stub.

    IOS9 (rev 778): No Patches
    IOS12 (rev 269): No Patches
    IOS13 (rev 273): No Patches
    IOS14 (rev 520): No Patches
    IOS15 (rev 523): No Patches
    IOS17 (rev 775): No Patches
    IOS20 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS21 (rev 782): No Patches
    IOS22 (rev 1037): No Patches
    IOS28 (rev 1550): No Patches
    IOS31 (rev 3349): No Patches
    IOS33 (rev 3091): No Patches
    IOS34 (rev 3348): No Patches
    IOS35 (rev 3349): No Patches
    IOS36 (rev 3351): Trucha Bug ES Identify NAND Access
    IOS37 (rev 3869): No Patches
    IOS38 (rev 3867): No Patches
    IOS53 (rev 5406): No Patches
    IOS55 (rev 5406): No Patches
    IOS56 (rev 5405): No Patches
    IOS57 (rev 5661): No Patches
    IOS58 (rev 6175): No Patches
    IOS61 (rev 5405): No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 6687): Trucha Bug NAND Access
    IOS202 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug NAND Access USB 2.0
    IOS222 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug ES Identify NAND Access USB 2.0
    IOS223 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug NAND Access USB 2.0
    IOS236 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug ES Identify NAND Access
    IOS249 (rev 20): Trucha Bug NAND Access USB 2.0
    IOS250 (rev 20): Trucha Bug NAND Access USB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v6
    MIOS v10

    Report generated on 2010/09/11.

    If somebody could help me with my problem I would be very thankful.

    E: Whops! I thought this was going to the Modify ANY Wii 4.3 & below - thread.

    E2: Got it to work! Solution was to revert back to original 4.2e with up42e.zip and then I used the 42mod.zip.
     
  18. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
    dont use 0.2?

    EDIT: also, learn 2 read. the installer even recommends you what to choose
     
  19. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    nope, ios 36 is only used when the installer fails to patch ios 58 or if the ios 58 isn't available...

    there is no press b function anymore in the 0.5 installer... if you do have that function then you have the beta and not the 0.5 release...
     
  20. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States

    Taken from the ReadMeh text file included with the .5 rar package

    Usage:

    Press (+/A) to install or update Preloader.
    Press (-/Y) to remove Preloader and restore your system menu.
    Hold Down (B) with any of the above options to use IOS36.
    Press (HOME/Start) to chicken out and quit the installer!
    To access Priiloader and configure it please hold (RESET) during the boot cycle.

    Requirements:

    if run from HBC 1.0.7 and above, no ios patching is needed at all. however, if the installer
    gives an option to reload to IOS36, and the user does this , then IOS36 needs to be fully patched.
    Priiloader itself does not need any ios patching (and we recommend to keep the system menu ios unpatched)
     

Share This Page