Preparing for CBHC, am I good?

Discussion in 'Wii U - Homebrew' started by G0R3Z, Mar 20, 2017.

Mar 20, 2017
  1. G0R3Z
    OP

    Member G0R3Z Just Can't Be Bothered

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right, i've got Haxchi installed over a copy of Brain Training that I got for free from the eShop. Confirmed it both boots into the CFW sysmenu and homebrew launcher.

    Now it's just a case of installing CBHC over it, am I right?

    Also, I wanted to ask about installing a Homebrew Launcher Channel. After CBHC, I assume it's just installing the channel with Wup installer like any other game?
     


  2. godreborn

    Member godreborn GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,498
    Country:
    United States
    ur good. and, yes, to the homebrew launcher question.
     
  3. G0R3Z
    OP

    Member G0R3Z Just Can't Be Bothered

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers. I tend to overthink things, so I wanted to make sure I wasn't missing anything.
     
  4. godreborn

    Member godreborn GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,498
    Country:
    United States
    no, it's pretty easy.
     
  5. Reecey

    Member Reecey Mario 64 (favorite game of all time)

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,801
    Location:
    At Home :)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Make sure you install cbhc last, don't install cbhc and then go back to haxchi, it will brick. Or install haxchi and then cbhc you cant go wrong. Also make sure your wiiu boots back into the main menu after cbhc install dont install it and then reset asap let it run. Yes and also make sure you do select Brain Training on cbhc install double check for your roms correct don't use anything else or even a back up etc.. for cbhc. It must be off eshop and the latest version, if you still have the old free Brian Training on your menu, delete it and re-download it of eshop the original will brick!
     
    Last edited by Reecey, Mar 20, 2017
  6. godreborn

    Member godreborn GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,498
    Country:
    United States
    and, uninstall (if u ever need to) with the app. I've uninstalled with it, and there were no issues. also, if u copy the haxchi to internal memory, be warned that the usb version will override the NAND version with its meta folder. that's y I uninstalled the first time, 'cause I didn't think the haxchi game's image and information had changed. I just left it the second time, because moving the game would've caused a question mark tile in mocha redNAND. I want both NANDs looking perfect. :)
     
  7. G0R3Z
    OP

    Member G0R3Z Just Can't Be Bothered

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've already downloaded Brain Training and installed Haxchi over that, and double checked that Haxchi works properly (it boots into the CFW sysmenu and into the homebrew launcher). Basically just install CBHC and let it run, then I adjust settings after reboot?
     
  8. godreborn

    Member godreborn GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,498
    Country:
    United States
    copy or move the game to the internal flash, unplug any usb devices. that's it really. u'll get cbhc menu when the system boots up. if u want to choose something to autoboot, that's where u make ur selection. if u change ur mind, hit home when it says autobooting to get back to the menu.
     
  9. G0R3Z
    OP

    Member G0R3Z Just Can't Be Bothered

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd probably just autoboot to the sysmenu, makes sense to be honest.
     
  10. godreborn

    Member godreborn GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,498
    Country:
    United States
    that's what I have as well. it works very well.
     
  11. Felek666

    Member Felek666 ~Advanced Neko Fan~

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    962
    Location:
    Hell
    Country:
    Poland
    Welcome to CBHC master race i guess.
    If you ever feel like booting into anything else then press Home buttom when "Autobooting..." message appears.
     
  12. G0R3Z
    OP

    Member G0R3Z Just Can't Be Bothered

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am one of the CBHC master race now, yes. Everything went according to plan and will now autoboot to Sysmenu.

    Quick follow up question - Is it still possible to run a game straight from the quick menu on the gamepad? Will it autoboot and then run the game as normal?
     
  13. godreborn

    Member godreborn GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,498
    Country:
    United States
    that's a good question. I'm not sure. I turned off my quick menu when I was using redNAND, because it causes weird light glitches.
     
  14. G0R3Z
    OP

    Member G0R3Z Just Can't Be Bothered

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hmm, I might do the same and turn it off to make sure.

    I also assume running vWii is fine as well? I don't see that touched on.
     
    Last edited by G0R3Z, Mar 20, 2017
  15. godreborn

    Member godreborn GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,498
    Country:
    United States
    it may only be for fw.img redNAND, but I dunno. u should try using the quick menu to see if it does anything. I've not read anything about it not working or that it causes any problems. I'm sure a lot of people have their quick menu enabled since a lot of people didn't jump on the redNAND bandwagon since it was too involved.
     
  16. G0R3Z
    OP

    Member G0R3Z Just Can't Be Bothered

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't use any advanced hacks or anything. I literally just play games. I just wanted to use some Eshop titles and Virtual console games that require the CFW.

    I don't want to use the quick menu just in case I brick for some reason xD
     
  17. godreborn

    Member godreborn GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,498
    Country:
    United States
    I moved on from redNAND, because it's easier to use sysNAND. plus, there have been a lot of threads about redNAND corruption. I've tested both sysNAND and mocha redNAND with cbhc. both work perfectly....but I stay with sysNAND. I usually don't play any downloaded games. I almost always play games that I bought like tropical freeze and new super mario bros u. I bought 75 games digitallyl
     
  18. G0R3Z
    OP

    Member G0R3Z Just Can't Be Bothered

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've got many disc games that I wanted to rip to a hard drive for easy access. I normally don't advocate piracy but i'm not paying for Metroid Prime Trilogy when I already own it.
     
  19. godreborn

    Member godreborn GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,498
    Country:
    United States
    I think of myself as collecting the games. I usually can't have fun playing a pirated game, because it cost me nothing.
     
  20. G0R3Z
    OP

    Member G0R3Z Just Can't Be Bothered

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I tend to only pirate games that I know I can't get ahold of normally. In the UK, games are often very rare. The Wii U was sold in very limited supplies in Pal, because it was evident it wasn't doing well. I couldn't get a copy of the original Xenoblade Chronicles for the Wii, anywhere. People wanted £50 for it, an outrageous price. Just the tip of the iceberg, many retro games are so expensive, even moreso here than the US, since we're a small country.
     

Share This Page