Preloader, system format, then Bootmii. Bugger! Help please

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ought, May 21, 2009.

  1. ought
    OP

    ought Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 21, 2009
    Any help would be much appreciated!

    I think I have been rather impatient and made a big mess…. I had preloader on my Wii, which my Wii would always boot to. I did not like that so I did a system format from the Wii System Menu hoing to get back to the start. This meant I could get to the preloader but not the system menu any more. So then I installed Bootmii. So now all I can do is get to Bootmii and my Homebrew Channel and some other installation thing, that asks if I want to install every time I boot…

    I only really wanted to play backups, but now I just want to be able to play Wii Sports that came with my Wii... Help?

    Please ;O)
     
  2. Maikel Steneker

    Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Member
    3,396
    34
    May 16, 2007
    Netherlands
    I think the best way to restore would be upgrading. Since you can't get into the system menu anymore, you should try Waninkoko cIOS Downgrader. If that doesn't work, try IOS Downgrader first.

    Basically, you need to find some kind of way to upgrade, so everything except BootMii gets replaced by the original files. Also, you should start with making a backup in BootMii so if you mess anything up, you can always restore.
     
  3. ought
    OP

    ought Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 21, 2009
    Thanks for the reply... so can I do this over my WiFi connection? Does it give me an option to change the WiFi settings, WEP and whatnot?

    And is it a good idea to uprgrade the latest more restrictive firmware? I was on 3.1e.

    Ta!
     
  4. kornychaos

    kornychaos Organized.

    Member
    362
    69
    Jul 7, 2007
    United States
    Preloader, at least 0.29, had an option to change whether to boot the sysmenu or preloader...
    Since you are where you are though, find a disk with the 3.2e update on it, and use that to update, then it should work fine?
    You can go the extra step and run the downgrader as mentioned in the post above, and then use Waninkoko's 4.0 updater to get the latest.
    (Follow ultimate 4.0 guide for those instructions...)
     
  5. ought
    OP

    ought Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 21, 2009
    And thank you for your reply too ;o)

    But where do I find a disk with 3.2e? I have had a search on Google, searched for a torrent, and none on newsgroups either?

    Cheers!
     
  6. kornychaos

    kornychaos Organized.

    Member
    362
    69
    Jul 7, 2007
    United States
  7. ought
    OP

    ought Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 21, 2009
    I have foudn a WAD file torrent for 3.2e.. would that work?
     
  8. lajd

    lajd GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    146
    0
    Apr 3, 2008
    United States
  9. TroyTheZombie

    TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,631
    4
    Mar 3, 2009
    Canada
    Calgary, Canada
    yep. You will need either a disc with a system menu on it (ie mario kart) ot a system menu wad.

    No offense, but before you go formatting or deleting things, you really should do some research first. Luckily what you did is recoverable from, next time you may not be so lucky.
     
  10. zidane_genome

    zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Member
    2,320
    0
    May 21, 2006
    United States
    discs that have 3.2 are :

    MarioKart Wii
    Super Smash Bros Brawl

    open in WiiScrubber 1.40, go to the Update Partition, and pull out the WADs you need
     
  11. ought
    OP

    ought Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 21, 2009
    Oh no offence taken, you are right, stupidly impatient of me ;O)

    Assuming I fix it, and I know this is doubtless covered everywhere but I fear getting it wrong (again). What is the simplest way for me to get backups on DVDr working with a reversible softmod?

    Thank you again!
     
  12. TroyTheZombie

    TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,631
    4
    Mar 3, 2009
    Canada
    Calgary, Canada
    if you get everything working

    Install cIOS rev10

    then use wiigators wii backup launcher 0.3 with the 002 fix (If you can't find it, PM me)
     
  13. ought
    OP

    ought Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 21, 2009
    Ok, so is this right:

    1. I run "Waninkoko cIOS Downgrader" from my SD card using the Homebrew channel and use it to install this wad file, "3.2eb SystemMenu-v290.wad", again from my SD card, which I think is the right WAD for a Pal Wii?

    Then I should have my system menu back. Yes?

    2. I am guessing the homebrew channel will still be there. Is that right? So I then reset, install "cIOS rev10", and then run "wiigators wii backup launcher 0.3 with the 002 fix". Both using the Homebrew, and again from the SD Card, and then I should be able to play DVDr backups?

    Do I need to do the same every time?

    Apologies for being a pain.