PPSE-DS r10 issues

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by VoltManEXE, Apr 2, 2010.

Apr 2, 2010

PPSE-DS r10 issues by VoltManEXE at 3:54 AM (3,558 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. VoltManEXE
    OP

    Newcomer VoltManEXE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    I tried using PPSE-DS r10 on my AR DSi, and it loads just fine. The problem is, it wont recognize my saves, no matter what. The saves are in .duc format. I tried it with platinum and pearl, both didnt work. I didn't try it on diamond, but it obviously has something to do with the fact i'm not using a flashcart. (and don't just say that I have to go out and buy one, because I'm waiting for a certain one to be released [​IMG] )
    Anyway, I already patched it for Games 'n Music, and I even tried it without patching. If I don't patch it, I can't even use it. Is there a way to load the saves and use it in an AR DSi?
     


  2. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    I think PPSEDS only recognizes .sav format. So you would have to have internet access and a computer to convert the save file...unless there is a save file converter homebrew (I've never heard of one)...Maybe you could upload your save to an online sav converter like Shunyweb via a DS browser...but I've never tried it before.
     
  3. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    Untested converter here:
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/jtnzndommiv/ductosav.7z Use link below
    Don't blame me if your SD goes wrong.

    How to use:
    Press "R" on duc file.
    This is hacked hbmenu, so A button won't work.
     
  4. VoltManEXE
    OP

    Newcomer VoltManEXE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    I used it, and it crashes when I press R.
    I did have to patch it though, otherwise it wouldn't work. I did try other converters, but they just wouldn't work.
    Do you know which save format is needed for PPSE or PPSE-DS?
    Thats basically all i'm trying to do here.
     
  5. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    .sav format.

    shuny's web converter should do the trick.
     
  6. VoltManEXE
    OP

    Newcomer VoltManEXE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I did try that, and there are like 5 different .sav formats. I don't know which one to choose.
     
  7. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    try the one that says r4
     
  8. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    Well, if you can give me sample duc, I can check it in my NDS...

    [edit]Sorry I converted using shuny ^^; I'm going test it.
     
  9. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    Very sorry, but I have tested and found a beginner's mistake.
    This version confirmed to work:
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/tjzgzzmmk3z/ductosav.7z

    #A button works for directory, but for duc please use R.

    Well, here is another question - why PPSEDS won't recongnize 1MB save (plat) "in default"?
     
  10. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    PPSE checks 512 savs.

    just choose show all.
     
  11. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    alright I've asked a favor
     
  12. Chase-san

    Member Chase-san GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    Save format is the RAW save format. That means the way the cart saves it to its backup memory. This happens to be used by most carts (only freak companies use special formats, bleh).

    As for 1mb saves, I have already done my rant on that today. But yeah, it only checks 512 kb saves, since that is the only size they should ever be. I added the toggle due to popular request.

    EDIT: actually, they can be 256 kb too, but this only occurs on the first save. (soon as you save for the second time it is 512 kb)
     
  13. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    that, i didn't know [​IMG]
     
  14. gameguy95

    Banned gameguy95 Needs More Furries!

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Furrytown
    Country:
    United States
    ^2 things:
    1) pokemon HGSS is supposed to be 1MB (1024Kb)
    2) apparently, it checks all 512kb files because i had a .bak file on my r4 (save backup) and it showed. maybe that is because .bak is just a renamed .sav ?_?
     
  15. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    All pokemon games have ONLY 512kb of memory for saving
     
  16. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    and another for backup.

    which equals.... 1MB
     
  17. gameguy95

    Banned gameguy95 Needs More Furries!

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Furrytown
    Country:
    United States
    yes. that explains why whenever it gets corrupted, it wants to restart: i have a 512kb sav from PPSE for the computer.

    just a hint: if your sav gets corrupted and it blue screens, turn it off before it can delete the save file, restart your DS and go into PPSEDS, edit a random thing, save, load your game again
     
  18. Gariscus

    Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Australia
    I don't understand why people don't just convert their saves to the proper size - 512KB...
     
  19. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    It is written in DSTT 1.17a01 savlib.dat that Platunum save is 1MB.
    I believe ashley...
     
  20. Gariscus

    Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Australia
    Well, I believe Team Cyclops and Chase-san.
     

Share This Page