possibly considering a new flashcart for DSi

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by cubicjack, Aug 22, 2009.

Aug 22, 2009
  1. cubicjack
    OP

    Newcomer cubicjack Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    I've been using an original v1 R4 for my DSL without any problems. After I got a DSi, I bought an M3i0 for it.

    For the most part, the M3 works nicely, but there are a few issues that I've encountered after switching:
    1) Soft reset for a certain game (Mahjong Fight Club, in case you want to know) doesn't work in M3 Sakura, but it works in R4
    2) Soft reset patching is not automatic for all games
    3) Sakura lacks a one-button save backup/restore feature
    4) You can't delete files in Sakura without using homebrew apps.

    Now, all of these are not deal-breaking problems, but I did use these features a lot with my R4, and it would be nice and convenient to have them again.

    I do like the Sakura loader, but that's only because of how it looks, so it's not that important. As long as the loader is not slow and clunky (like TouchPod), I'm fine with it. So anyone have any suggestions as to which one I should try?
     
  2. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    You don't need a new flashcart, just for those features...you say it's not a deal-breaker, but it evidently is, seeing as how you're considering getting a new flashcart. The M3i0 is pretty much the best flashcart out there right now, for the DSi. It uses a dual-loader, doesn't it? You could try booting into the other firmware on it.
     
  3. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    1. You want to switch because soft-reset doesn't work on one game that most people haven't even heard of? Wow, you know you can request them to fix it and they probably will.
    2. You mean an option for global soft-reset? It's been requested before, they may or may not be working on it still it's nothing to throw your flashcart away for.
    3. I don't even know what you mean by that...you mean you don't like the m3i zero because Sakura won't let you be lazy and backup with one button instead of having to hit a couple buttons to back it up?
    4. Never thought of even having that feature because honestly I don't need it, again you can use homebrew it's not a big deal.

    Every flashcart has ups and downs like this, like the acekard2i doesn't have RTS and some contacts problems. SCDS1i's menu is pretty slow (they may have updated it to go a little faster not sure don't have one). Etc.
     
  4. cubicjack
    OP

    Newcomer cubicjack Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    What I meant by 3 is that in the R4, pressing A on a .sav file would create a copy of it (same name, but .bak), and pressing A on a .bak file would restore it (overwrite the original .sav). It doesn't necessarily have to be a 1-button thing, but there is no such feature in Sakura (at least I can't find it). I know there's a Save Restore feature in Sakura, but that's not quite what I'm looking for. And I also don't like using RTS, since it takes up a lot of space, and it takes away soft reset.

    And again, I'm not going to scrap my M3 just because it lacks these features, but if there are other carts that have them, I'd like to try them and see which one I like better. I'll guess I'll try out AK2i first. Thanks.
     
  5. warbird

    Member warbird GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    290
    Country:
    Japan
    AKAIO for AceKard (not sure about official FW as I never use it) supports up to 10 save slots, and copying between the slots (each slot is a standalone file). So you can copy from slot 1 (default) to slot 2, to make a backup. Then copy back from slot 2 to 1 to restore.
     
  6. cubicjack
    OP

    Newcomer cubicjack Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    I've never tried doing that in YsMenu, but I'm pretty sure you can do that in the official firmware as well.

    Thanks for the info guys, I'll try AK2i first.
     
  7. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    You keep talking about the R4 and how good it is. Maybe you should get a R4i the one M3 Team made has RTS also.
     
  8. cubicjack
    OP

    Newcomer cubicjack Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    Not really. I just miss some of the features that I've been using for years. I'm not especially interested in getting an R4 again.

    Edit: fixed typo.
     
  9. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    If you didn't know RTS doesn't take away Soft-Reset...well not really...the RTS menu has an option to return to the flashcart menu.
     

Share This Page