Poll: What Micro SD Card Are You Using

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by NESticle, Jan 25, 2007.

?

What Micro SD Card Are You Using?

  1. Kingston - Japan

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Kingston - Taiwan

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Sandisk (Regular)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Sandisk Ultra II

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. A-Data

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. PQI

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  7. Ritek

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Jan 25, 2007
  1. NESticle
    OP

    Newcomer NESticle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    So many people have different cards. I really would like to know which card is the most used.
     


  2. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Most likely Kingston Japan or Sandisk regular
     
  3. ydnar64

    Newcomer ydnar64 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Kingston - Taiwan... I ordered Japan but got the other. No problems though... i havemn't tried Castlevania: POR
     
  4. pristinemog

    Member pristinemog GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Country:
    United States
    SanDisk Ultra II here... Was originally going to get an M3 Lite Perfect before Christmas and was reading up about the need for a good high speed card and got my brother to order it. The very next day, the wave of Slot-1 solutions nearly drowned me. Ended up getting an R4, but hey, no worries. At least I can play C:PoR!
     
  5. MelgaShop

    Newcomer MelgaShop Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Kingston Taiwan here. No problems at the moment.
     
  6. R-Unit 4

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    Kingston Taiwan...I got a R4...I wish I could of gotten a Supercard lite as well though...
     
  7. SynGamer

    Member SynGamer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Using a Taiwan made Kingston, works fine.
     
  8. Katalyst

    Member Katalyst Johnald Everyperson

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    From H-Town, Residing in ATL.
    Country:
    United States
    Kingston SD-C01G JAPAN, which is has already been reported numerous times to work 100%. Ironically, I bought this before R4 was shipping without any inclination to what we know now. I only chose it because it was the cheapest ($10 w/free shipping) I saw around. Guess I got lucky, even though I don't play everyone's favorite problem game.
     
  9. iisdev

    Newcomer iisdev Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    post deleted by author.
    reason: CNET affiliation
     
  10. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just a normal sandisk here. Got my G6 as backup anyway for games like castlevania or if any others come up that only like a certain sd card.
     
  11. aphexpusher

    Member aphexpusher GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    I have two kingstons japan and one A data. all 1 gig in size. they are ok though kingstons are top notch. the a data crashes in castlevania PoR.
     
  12. darksavior

    Member darksavior GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    United States
    Taiwan Kingston. Freezes with POR unless i'm careful and let warp load completely, don't travel with partner, don't press start with Wind/Priest

    I'm wondering if R4 team can somehow tweak the readspeed in POR, so maybe it might "lag" at the high read times, but not crash the game.
     
  13. MaHe

    Member MaHe one lazy schmo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Transcend 1 GB ... every game I tried worked perfectly fine ...
     
  14. jtroye32

    Member jtroye32 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    420
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    kingston 1gb japan. crashed once in POR, went back to same spot and jumped around, made it crash again (took longer). went back a third time jumped around about 50 times and couldn't get the thing to crash for the life of me. loving the card
     
  15. bennyboo

    Newcomer bennyboo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've got a regular Sandisk and a Toshiba (same as Kingston Japan - I think).. Never had a freeze on the Toshiba, had many on the Sandisk!
     
  16. pitprop

    Newcomer pitprop Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dane-Elec 1GB
    Viking 1GB

    Both SD-C01G Japan cards the same as Kingston ( all reported to be manufacturered by Toshiba).
    I haven't played Castlevania POR , but no problems so far.
     
  17. quinterrya

    Newcomer quinterrya Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    I received a 1gb A-Data from modchipstore.com when i ordered my r4 ds. to be honest, i love it and really don't see any different some other sd cards. It did boot castlevania p.o.r., but i haven't played it yet.
     
  18. Yan K

    Newcomer Yan K Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Belgium
    Got Kingston Taiwan and everything works fine [​IMG]
     
  19. spokenrope

    Member spokenrope c7

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    689
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using a PNY 1 gig. I've had no problems so far, and I've been playing mostly Castlevania POR since my r4 came.
     
  20. WEandrea

    Newcomer WEandrea Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Italy
    Transcend 1gb! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page