Pokemon Platinum lag

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by Passa, Mar 31, 2009.

Mar 31, 2009

Pokemon Platinum lag by Passa at 8:48 AM (2,017 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Passa
    OP

    Newcomer Passa Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi guys,

    Just checking if this is normal.. in Hearthome City, riding around with the bike near the assortment of large buildings, the game chugs for me. It's happened in a few other places where there's lots on screen as well and I'm not sure if it should be doing that..

    I don't remember it doing that with Pearl (and a different SD card). Would a slow card manifest itself in such a way?
     
  2. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    No that's not normal. I've been playing Platinum for almost 24 hours and it hasn't lagged once. Sometimes when weird things like that happen, your card just needs a fresh format. Backup all your data, then format with this tool: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=1530. It'll format it better than a normal Windows format will, so that might help you even more. After that, Platinum should work fine.
     
  3. Slyde1052

    Newcomer Slyde1052 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Turning off your batterysaver option may help too.
     
  4. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Platinum appears to be a little bit more demanding in graphics, but I don't know how much difference is normal. If any that's noticeable.
     
  5. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Happens to me too. Does it freeze on you when you try to use the GTS?
     
  6. Seven

    Member Seven oh hell no

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    United States
    The GTS works fine for me: personally I think it's a fast card speed that prevents the initial freeze for the GTS (black screen after going through the door), but my problem is the actual connection. I keep timing out and getting communication errors.
     
  7. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you experience any freezes trying to access the GTS, there's an easy fix.

    Before you enter the door, enable your slow-mo and set it to 50%.
    Before you connect online, set it back to 100%

    And you'll have no problems.
     
  8. SoLuckys

    Member SoLuckys GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Paralimni
    Country:
    Cyprus
    i think its normal cos my retail copy of pokemon pearl was lagging at some places too, on platinum thou i am not experiencing lags [​IMG]
     

Share This Page