Pokemon Black ROM Freezinng

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by AceWarhead, Nov 24, 2011.

Nov 24, 2011
  1. AceWarhead
    OP

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    I have a ROM of Pokemon Black,and randomly on Route 6 and thr cave, it would freeze up. At first I thought It was cheats, but disabling them did not help. A suspicious thing is the ROM is only 195mb, trimmed. Could this be the culprit? I am using the R4i Gold 3DS with Wood 1.39. Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Try backing up your cart again, because something may have went wrong.
    Keep it untrimmed.
     
  3. AceWarhead
    OP

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, it was the trimmer, it cut away important parts of the games data. Thanks for helping.
     
  4. Kaoid

    Member Kaoid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ahh it may not be the trimmer. it may be. a trimmer is only supposed to remove blank/garbage data but it might also be anti-piracy protection. nintendo did put some anti-piracy protection in it so i migth be that. Nintendo also put anti-piracy protection in pokémon hg/ss which is why that game freezes randomly on a flashcart. this may be the case for pokemon black.
     
  5. AceWarhead
    OP

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I know about AP patching. But the same ROM worked perfectly un-trimmed.
     
  6. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    @ AceWarhead For future reference, which trimmer did you use that cut away data that was needed?
     

Share This Page