1. helfire

    OP helfire Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Hi all,

    After updating my from 8.0.1 to 9.1.0 - using ChoidujourNX I'm getting the following error when injecting hekate 5.1.1 and booting cfw sysnand:

    I see the kosmos splash, then sept, then get

    Pkg2 decryption failed!
    Is Sept updated?

    Failed to launch HOS!
    Press any key...
    When launching Lockpick_RCM.bin I see an error as well:

    Warning! Package1-Package2 mismatch: 10, 8
    The process I followed was
    1. Update Kosmos 14.2 to 15 while on 8.0.1 - booted to ensure kosmos/atmosphere was working.
    2. Ran ChoidujourNX (not in applet mode) and updated to 9.1.0 w/ extfat (card is fat32) - said success
    3. Rebooted - got the above error.
    What I've tried and did not work:
    • I tried pulling sept from the latest atmosphere release and deleting/adding it back (as maybe the error is suggesting)
    • I've tried with freshly formatted sd cards using Kosmos V15, and a few others, all have the same error
    • I've pulled the latest bins from hekate and and replaced them on the sd card.
    • sd card is FAT32 (though did try extfat because I'm running out of ideas :)

    Oddly if I select fusee-primary.bin from hekate I can get into HOS - and it says 9.1.0|10.0.1|S

    There are a few threads/github posts - but no real resolutions I can see. Any help appreciated!
     
    meohsix likes this.
  2. meohsix

    meohsix GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    I’m having the same problem. Hopefully someone has a solution.
     
  3. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12,103
    Country:
    United States
    Using fusee-primary.bin is the recommended way of booting Atmosphere.
     
  4. nintendowii

    nintendowii GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    Germany
    Try to rename the atmosphere folder at your sd card and extract the newest file from the atmosphere github direct to your sd card. Copy your ini‘s and Es+Fs from the old atmosphere folder to the new one. Then restart.
     
  5. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12,103
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, it is a bad idea to copy the signature patches if they're from a previous Kosmos install. Fusee-primary signature patches can be found here.
     
  6. nintendowii

    nintendowii GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    Germany
    Don’t update atmosphere or Kosmos with overwrite the old files if you update your firmware. Make a backup of the old folders (atmosphere, sept etc. ) and extract the newest cfw files direct to your sd card. Use the right signature patches for your current cfw. try if it boots into your cfw.
     
  7. iriez

    iriez GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    516
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure why you are having the problem, but I do have a way to get it working via autoboot for you.

    https://github.com/CTCaer/hekate/blob/master/res/hekate_ipl_template.ini

    Make or alter your current hekate_ipl.ini to have the following -

    Code:
    {--- fusee-primary ---}
    [fusee-primary]
    emummc_force_disable=1
    payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee-primary.bin
    icon=bootloader/res/icon_switch.bmp
    {}

    Make sure you have fusee-primary.bin in your /bootloader/payloads/ dir
    the ini is located in /bootloader/ini on the root of your sd card.

    Just open it on your PC and add the above. Then interrupt your hekate boot process holding vol + and then boot the fuse-primary option. It should work since you already confirmed it does...and then you can boot back into the config and set that to autoboot.

    Note - If you are using sigpatches you'll need to use this release - https://github.com/Joonie86/hekate/...Atmosphere_patches_.for.fusee.primary.only.7z

    I would strongly recommend you don't use kosmos. Just copy over a clean copy of the latest atmosphere and then hekate and see if you get it working. Then apply the correct sigpatches. This way you can isolate what breaks what when. Don't try to copy everything at once when you're having issues. Boot vanilla atmosphere first, then try hekate, then sigpatches etc.
     
    Last edited by iriez, Jan 3, 2020
  8. helfire

    OP helfire Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for all the suggestions - while I would like to /just use/ Kosmos I can live with booting hekate -> primary -> secondary + other sig patches.

    The switch is still in an odd state though even if I take the suggested approach - lockpic_rcm still reports a miss match and not sure how to finally resolve it (besides a restore from backup and re-update).

    Was talking on discord to try to find the root and it may be related to updating Kosmos (removing folder - re-adding) - I may have no longer had bis write flag set (forgot if/when I did that and when it became required for ChoidujourNX) maybe a possibility why it failed.

    My next step is to get it into above mode - then re-run the 9.1.0 update with biswrite on - see if that resolves anything.
     
  9. seanp2500

    seanp2500 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah latest atmosphere i have lot of problem latest hekate fail but fusee work for me. Ironically kosmos on another sd work fine no issue. I am noticing errors when using mods heck i woke up today to it crashed at dash. This is a vanilla atmosphere using sys clk and omnislash ff7 mod. So yeah methinks there are issues. I patiently await a stability update hahaha
     
  10. helfire

    OP helfire Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I was able to get it to boot via primary - though I can not make sigpatches work with either the one linked or the other thread on this forum. Just says "Cant launch software". Will report if I get any further, though may resort to a restore.
     
  11. meohsix

    meohsix GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    The EXACT same problem i’m having. No sig patches will work. All I get is the “can’t launch software” error.
    I’ve tried every combo of atmosphere, kosmos, the h/b/g all in one pack, SD setup, hekate, fusee, sig patches from here, github and any other place I could find them.I’ve used multiple different SD cards, I’ve formatted them to FAT32 multiple times. I’ve made sure to delete files off the sd card instead of overwriting them. NOTHING WORKS.

    I tried asking for help on a certain groups discord but I was banned after being called a retard for not being able to follow the 6 easy steps (that I followed to a damn t at least 8 times) to get it working.

    I feel so defeated. This isn’t my first time updating the switch’s FW and I’ve never had problems like this before.
     
    helfire likes this.
  12. helfire

    OP helfire Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I've fixed the issue -

    1. Ensure you have 1.0.2 of choi - i believe I had an older version that did not check if bis write was enabled
    2. Ensure you have bis write enabled switch.homebrew.guide/usingcfw/manualupgrade#step-2-allow-choidujournx-to-write-to-bis
    3. Boot into atmosphere via primary
    4. run choi - and update again - it should say updating and writing firmware (the ones it couldn't before) - but no packages to install - so hit cancel after it's done.
    5. Reboot
    6. I re-ran lock pick rcm, no more mismatch!
    7. Reinstall your favorite atmosphere
    8. Boot up via hekate
    9. Have fun!
    Thanks to everyone who helped.

    Root cause - likely old version of choi + no bis write flag - it had been working since 4.1.0-8.1.0 I didn't think anything of it.
     
    iriez and meohsix like this.
  13. meohsix

    meohsix GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    I’ll give it a try!
     
    helfire likes this.
  14. meohsix

    meohsix GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the double post, but it worked!!!
    i downloaded the newest ChoiDujourNX, i set the BIS flag, re-installed the 9.1.0 FW, used vanilla Atmosphere with fusee-primary and the sig patches from here on GBA Temp and all my games work again!

    THANK YOU SO MUCH HELFIRE FOR FIGURING IT OUT!
     
    iriez and helfire like this.
  15. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,567
    Country:
    United States
    Having `emummc_force_disable=1` in a config that chainloads a payload does nothing. It doesn’t do anything bad I suppose, but not having makes it look a bit cleaner :P
     
    iriez likes this.
  16. pcwizard7

    pcwizard7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Country:
    Australia
    I ask the developer about this and he basically said pkg2 is now combined in pkg1 and these files are only used for development
     
  17. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,567
    Country:
    United States
    pkg1 and pkg2 never have been, probably never will be, and are currently not combined :thonk:
    (pkg1 is in BOOT0/1 and pkg2 is in those BCPKG2 partitions (it stands for BootConfig and Package2, BootConfig being some weird dev-only boot config thing, and package2 being... well... package2))
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - decryption, failed, update