Hacking Pikmin Wiimake

CheatingSoi

Graphic Designer
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
1,139
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Wisconsin
XP
1,058
Country
United States
So I downloaded The Wii de asubo Pikmin for wii when it came out and I was loving it, and now that it came out in English, i quickly grabbed that. Whats strange is that if i try to run it though the disk channel, it just goes to a black screen. If it run it through the gamma backup channel, it shows a green screen. I must run it with the Backup launcher on the homebrew channel for it to run. I am not sure why. Its kinda annoying but at least it works. I think the backup launcher on the homebrew channel I have is just a different version of gamma or something but still. Dont know why it wont work anywhere else. I guess it would have to do something with softmii or preloader. I belive all of my other games are working.
 

cacildo

Went and came back
Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
Messages
194
Trophies
0
XP
195
Country
Burkina Faso
I read that it aint working on NTSC - U wiis, even if patched.

It aint working on mine. Only shows up at the disk channel, then black screen.

Are you PAL or NTSC?
 

ether2802

we have the techno...!!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
4,349
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
Pto. Vallarta
XP
292
Country
Mexico
So the main.dol doesn't have NTSC-U data, that's why, try patching the .iso to NTSC before burning it, don't remember why the green screen issues was..!!
huh.gif
 

Hadrian

Everybody knows badgers like MASH POTATOES!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
16,984
Trophies
2
Age
41
XP
4,696
Country
United States
nyrol said:
Has Nintendo finally figured out a way to stop the loading of backups? Or has someone dumped the game poorly?
It works on PAL.
 

AsosaYoung

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
319
Trophies
0
Location
L B C
XP
52
Country
United States
I've read about 3 treads. It's not working for NTSC just PAL.
Mines is [Wii] Pikmin [PAL][MULTI5]. The NTSC version is suppose to be release March 9, 2009.
 

WiiPower

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
8,165
Trophies
0
XP
345
Country
Gambia, The
Well the game only contains PAL video code and only runs in PAL video mode for now. If your tv supports that, you are fine. I guess you default channel has force NTSC integrated, and this results in a green screen freeze. If it's a autoboot one, tap 1 while starting and look at the settings.
 

james4204

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
73
Trophies
0
XP
111
Country
wont work with my wii with gamma ( pal game on a pal system ) comes up with various errors.

also i noticed it showing the ios as 0, never seen that before on a game via iospatcher
 

DJPlace

the hater of something i can't recall.
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
5,535
Trophies
1
XP
3,269
Country
United States
personal i hate pikmin... but i want to give the first one a try... so did anyone try this with cioscops installed and runs through the wii disc channel...
 

CheatingSoi

Graphic Designer
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
1,139
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Wisconsin
XP
1,058
Country
United States
DJPlace said:
personal i hate pikmin... but i want to give the first one a try... so did anyone try this with cioscops installed and runs through the wii disc channel...

ohmy.gif
How do you hate pikmin?! I love that game. I started playing it again now and its a blast!

For everyone else, it does seem to work with gecko like said and also anohter backup launcher that is on my homebrew channel (I think its the one you can get through the homebrew browser). So if you are NTSC, use gecko or that. Unless any of the other ways work, like patching the ISO or holding one if you have force NTSC.
 

DJPlace

the hater of something i can't recall.
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
5,535
Trophies
1
XP
3,269
Country
United States
it's quite odd how i hate it... but i never did play the first one only the second... but i suppose i'll still try it and download this the game...
 

Wiiownzzz

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
90
Trophies
0
XP
93
Country
United States
I have some version of geko i think 1.0.7 or something like that and it won't work for me. Did you use any settings or forces?
 

Diffusion

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
700
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
160
Country
United States
Wiiownzzz said:
I have some version of geko i think 1.0.7 or something like that and it won't work for me. Did you use any settings or forces?
It probably works for them because their TV supports PAL. No settings forced = PAL video.
 

Wiiownzzz

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
90
Trophies
0
XP
93
Country
United States
AsosaYoung said:
Wiiownzzz the NTSC version will be out March 9. So don't trip about a little over a month to wait.

It's not that I'm tripping it's just that I dl from a private torrent site so I have to seed back or I get banned. My router limits me from seeding to like 20 kbps, which is a real pain in the ass when you want to seed a 4gb game...and now I'm going to download ANOTHER one, and to top it off the dl speeds are like 700 kbps + so I can't even seed for a long time because they dl it in like an hour or so. So I'm just trying to make the best of it and see if this one works.
tongue.gif
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://youtu.be/bcwkMfoUATc No more SteamDeck waits