Phat model ds top screen repair

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by WhoRuJudge, Sep 1, 2012.

Sep 1, 2012
  1. WhoRuJudge
    OP

    Newcomer WhoRuJudge No, Who Are You?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    I recently found my original phat ds, but I am having trouble with the top screen.

    The unit powers up, the screens turn on, but only the bottom screen shows up. The top screen is lit and stays white.
    Anyone help me track down the problem?
     
  2. Jiehfeng

    Member Jiehfeng The Moon over the Sun

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3,876
    Location:
    now here
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, did you turn it on without any cartridge or with a flashcart?
     
  3. WhoRuJudge
    OP

    Newcomer WhoRuJudge No, Who Are You?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    Didn't put any cart in. The top screen powers on, but only displays white.

    I did put a real game in, and the screen stayed white while the bottom displayed correctly.

    It would be nice to have a second ds for trades and stuff.
     
  4. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,452
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Is the ribbon cable properly attached?
     
  5. WhoRuJudge
    OP

    Newcomer WhoRuJudge No, Who Are You?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    I thought it was. Never opened it before, I will have to check.
    Thanks for a starting point.
     
  6. Jiehfeng

    Member Jiehfeng The Moon over the Sun

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3,876
    Location:
    now here
    Country:
    United States
    I think you better go to a nearest tech shop which can fix ds's.
    They will surely fix it for you.
     
  7. WhoRuJudge
    OP

    Newcomer WhoRuJudge No, Who Are You?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    We don't have any tech shops around here. Wish we did.

    opened it up, and the ribbon was loose.
    The clip that holds it was broken and free floating inside. That sucks. ribbon won't stay tight.

    I put it back together and now it won't turn on. screens flash and then turn off.

    Must have messed something up.

    Thanks for all the help guys, but this is out of my ability range.
     
  8. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,646
    Country:
    United States
    So it wont clip back in? Thats how its supposed to be, im pretty sure.
     
  9. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,452
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Ouch, that sucks :( Sorry to hear that.
     
  10. WhoRuJudge
    OP

    Newcomer WhoRuJudge No, Who Are You?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    The retaining clip was in 2 pieces. Couldn't get it to stay together.


    I may just hold onto it for parts, or try to fix it later. For now I stole the battery for my gba sp.
     
  11. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,646
    Country:
    United States
    Thats no good. I dont know if there is a way to remedy that.
     

Share This Page