Hacking Persona 2 Problem and Switching from ME to PRO?

lordqua

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello! I'm a newbie at hacking and homebrew, but I do try really hard to check out guides and such, however, I have currently been out of the scene for about a year and a half, and am needing a refresher.

I currently have a PSP 1001 (I assumed I had a 1000, but the serial number on mine says 1001) with 6.60 ME-1.8 cfw. I had 1.1, but I was able to remember enough to update to 1.8. But while searching some of this forum, I was noticing that PRO is used a lot. I can't remember for the life of me what and where I had gotten ME. Can anyone tell me the difference? I assume that it's a cfw created by different coders. Am I able to switch from ME to PRO safely? I ask because I remember having to go through hoops trying to get Persona 3 Portable to work .

I just received Persona 2: Innocent Sin, and attempted to play it (on 1.1) but it gave me a black screen and just shut off my PSP. I assumed it was an issue with the firmware because I remember having a bunch of issues while attempting to start up Persona 3 Portable a couple of years back, so I went ahead and looked for the latest update of my current cfw, and updated it to ME-1.8, however, I'm still getting the black screen when I attempt to load the game, and then it still shuts off. I am using the original UMD and I really wish to play through this game. Has anyone seen this problem? Can anyone help me update my firmware to whatever I can to be able to play it?

Thanks so much for any help! It's very much appreciated! :D

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Trophies
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
Country
United States
The last number in the model just denotes the region. People consider all the 100x models to be "1000".