PC Build Help

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by iggloovortex, Aug 28, 2011.

Aug 28, 2011

PC Build Help by iggloovortex at 1:01 PM (1,801 Views / 0 Likes) 32 replies

  1. iggloovortex
    OP

    Member iggloovortex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Stratford, CT
    Country:
    United States
    I think im done.

    EDIT: Forgot to mention this is my monitor which i already have for my ps3:
    HP TSS-25M9 Black 25" HDMI Widescreen Full HD 1080p LCD Monitor Built-in Speakers
    EDIT: Forgot about mouse and keyboard. I have a wireless mouse i dont mind sticking with for a while, and a shitty tiny USB keyboard that will need to go ASAP, but that costs more money lol


    My parts are as follows:

    CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge
    Motherboard: MSI P67A-GD53
    GPU: MSI N560GTX-TI Twin Frozr II/OC GeForce GTX 560 Ti
    Memory/RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB)
    HDD: SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB
    Disk Drive: Sony Optiarc CD/DVD Burner

    Im gonna fit it all in:
    Xigmatek Utgard Original Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

    And power it all with:
    Rosewill Green Series RG630-S12 630W

    Total comes up to $865 without shipping which (potentially) could be in place of ASUS G74SX-XT1 for $1500

    My main question/concern is the power supply. Im unsure whether it will be good enough
    EDIT: upgraded, how about now?
     


  2. Chhotu uttam

    Member Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    TEH WORLD
    Country:
    India
    Only the I7 Extreme don't support this mobo
    And the upcoming new Sandy Bridge E too probably won't support it [​IMG]
     
  3. iggloovortex
    OP

    Member iggloovortex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Stratford, CT
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...819115070

    does this work?

    --------------------------------------------------------------
    and also, will this case:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...ht-_-11-133-179
    (fixed)
    work for my aforementioned motherboard?

    EDIT: i want to change my case to:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16811815009
     
  4. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    EDIT: Forgot to mention; you've linked the Core i7-2600K twice in your above post, instead of linking the case you were thinking of.

    Little bit of history: There are two generations of Core i7. The older models, i7-8xx and i7-9xx worked on Intel Chipset series 5 motherboards (e.g. X58), either on LGA 1156 or LGA 1366 respectively. The newer model, i7-2600 and 2600K, works on Intel Chipset series 6 motherboards (H61, H67, P67 and Z68) which use LGA 1155. Later Sandy Bridge E will be released with LGA 2011.

    The Core i7-2600K you picked out will work on any LGA 1155 motherboard. Here's a lil explanation on what the different motherboard types are:
    H61: Budget motherboard. It can use the Intel HD 3000 graphics built into the CPU, however it typically lacks new features such as SATA III and USB3 and cannot overclock much at all.
    H67: Mid-ranged motherboard. It can also use the integrated graphics, however has virtually no overclocking ability. Almost always comes with SATA III and USB3.
    P67: High-end motherboard. It cannot use integrated graphics, however has much higher performance and virtually unlocked overclocking ability. Always comes with SATA III and USB3, and usually has a decent price too.
    Z68: Newly released for enthusiasts or extreme users. It can use integrated graphics and can overclock. It also has special new features such as GPU virtualization (it can switch between the integrated graphics and dedicated graphics card depending on what you're doing) and SSD "Smart Response Technology" (caches frequently used HDD data onto the SSD if you have one to double or quadruple HDD performance). These features are niche and should only be considered by people who actually have the money to spend on such a system, especially as Z68 motherboards are much more expensive than P67 motherboards and P67 motherboards typically overclock better thus get better performance than the first wave of Z68 motherboards.

    Additional note: if you plan to overclock, you will want a third-party heatsink (costs around $20-50) for cooling and high-grade thermal paste (costs around $8).

    tl;dr: The Core i7-2600K you picked will work fine with the GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD3P motherboard you picked, although unless you're after some extreme performance (e.g. high-resolution gaming or heavy rendering projects), it'll be wasted. Since you haven't mentioned what you're getting the parts for or how much you're willing to spend on a system, I'll assume you really need such a powerful computer for modelling or animation projects. If not, you're better off getting a Core i5-2500K and a MSI P67A-GD53 which is one of the three best motherboards at overclocking (and costs almost a third of the other two).
     
  5. iggloovortex
    OP

    Member iggloovortex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Stratford, CT
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for all the info, i think ill switch to the MSI, and as for the cpu, i like the idea of i7, but seeing as how i plan to use this build for high end long term gaming, it may not be necessary

    Ill definitely trust your word over my greed lol
     
  6. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I should've mentioned too, the difference between the Core i5-2500K and i7-2600K is a 100Mhz clock boost, slightly more L3 cache, and hyper threading (it gives each of the 4 physical cores an extra logical core to handle two threads at once).

    In terms of gaming, there's almost no difference in performance between them (although tests have shown that in an ideal setup, the i7 can overclock around 200Mhz further than the i5).
     
  7. iggloovortex
    OP

    Member iggloovortex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Stratford, CT
    Country:
    United States
  8. Chhotu uttam

    Member Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    TEH WORLD
    Country:
    India
  9. iggloovortex
    OP

    Member iggloovortex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Stratford, CT
    Country:
    United States
    i thought so too, cant go wrong with 3 fans
     
  10. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can't tell clearly if the Xigmatek case has an intake fan at the front or not. I know the Thermaltake case does, which gives it fairly decent cooling.
    EDIT: The Thermaltake case has 5 fans - front and bottom intake, two top and one back exhaust fans.

    Also, the Xigmatek case looks suspiciously similar to an Antec 902. I have an Antec 1200.
     
  11. Chhotu uttam

    Member Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    TEH WORLD
    Country:
    India
    Yeah and its cost 10$ more than that of Thermaltake.
    3 fans haha love it. [​IMG]
    They say its side ventilated,but never heard of Xigmatek [​IMG]
     
  12. iggloovortex
    OP

    Member iggloovortex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Stratford, CT
    Country:
    United States
    the thermal take has space for 5 fans, but only comes with one
     
  13. JohnLoco

    Member JohnLoco GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Country:
    Yugoslavia
    I would go for the i5 instead, maybe 8gb cheaper ram and perhaps a more reliable brand regarding the PSU (with modular cables too?), and for the money you save you can buy a better case & SSD hard drive.
     
  14. iggloovortex
    OP

    Member iggloovortex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Stratford, CT
    Country:
    United States
    switched to i5
    case is good for me
    ssd costs a decently high amount
     
  15. Lunatics

    Member Lunatics GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United States
    Cut your ram in half, invest in a better slightly more powerful power supply. You will never need 16gigs of ram.

    Actually, wow I didn't realize how cheap ram was...when I built my machine 8gigs of ram was that price. Either way, you do not and will not ever need 16 gigs, I'd save 50 bucks and get 8 and invest that 50 into a power supply. Something like http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16817182200 or http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16817152042 a modular PSU would make your life so much easier.
     
  16. iggloovortex
    OP

    Member iggloovortex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Stratford, CT
    Country:
    United States
    ok thanks i picked http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16817182200
     
  17. Lunatics

    Member Lunatics GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United States
    I edited my post with 2 power supplys. 500W will probably cut it for you, but you'll probably be using just about all of the power from it. It's always a good idea to have a power supply a little more powerful than you need so you have room to work with. Also, if you ever upgrade something down the line that draws more power, you may suddenly find yourself with a computer that won't run until you buy another one.
     
  18. iggloovortex
    OP

    Member iggloovortex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Stratford, CT
    Country:
    United States
    i was hoping i'd one day possibly go SLI lol. so i picked the 630W over the 700W since the 630W is SLI ready
     
  19. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    I have almost the same parts as you

    and you seem to be having troubles with your case

    i went ahead with the Themraltake armor a90

    thing is great, my 560ti idles at like 33, and 64 on MAX load (usually 55 on a normal game); great airflow and i still havn't added the extra 2 intake fans.

    as per PSU we had a chat about it in MY thread here, i suggest you highly read it for you dnt wanna mess around with getting the wrong or some cheapo PSU

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=301...p;#entry3778047

    I really dnt like the PSU you picked out, if your willing to shell the extra money (which i get the feeling you are not) then definitely go for Seasonic, Thermaltake or Gigbabyte. In other words the brand name means A LOT in the world of PSU's

    Originality can help you out much more than i can, he gave me some tips back when i was picking the parts, yet all in all it's just advice, you can choose to buy wahtever you want

    yet in theory that PSU you have listed should work - yet its not something i would use.
    Best of luck ! .. really fun building a PC.
     
  20. iggloovortex
    OP

    Member iggloovortex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Stratford, CT
    Country:
    United States
    thanks! ill take a look now
     

Share This Page