Partitioning help

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by coolbho3000, Mar 7, 2008.

Mar 7, 2008

Partitioning help by coolbho3000 at 12:07 AM (964 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. coolbho3000
    OP

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    So I reinstalled Windows. This time around I learn from previous mistakes and created a dedicated fat32 SWAP partition.

    But guess what - the computer thinks the SWAP partition (C:\) is the Windows partition... Programs ask to install to C:\ and such, instead of E:\ where my primary partition is. Also, I get the "running out of disk space error" - with the recommendation to use disk cleanup on it, even though the partition is clearly not for storage purposes!

    I know this is set by a setting in the registry... how can I change it so programs default to installing on E:\ instead of C:\. Thanks people. [​IMG]
     
  2. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    It would probably be easier just to swap the drive letters.
     
  3. GrayFox Cap

    Member GrayFox Cap GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Well... you put yourself in quite a pickle by installing Windows on anything other than your C:\

    ...and Windows mainly benefits from a SWAP 'partition' if it resides on a different physical drive, not on a logical partition.

    If you don't want to re-install, give this KB a go:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/223188

    PS: Location of the registry stuff should be here: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\MountedDevices
     
  4. coolbho3000
    OP

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    I'll try that.

    I made SWAP partition because easier to defrag. And the partition is at the front of drive to improve performance. [​IMG]

    @Urza: Are you talking about the above process?
     
  5. coolbho3000
    OP

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Arrgh, swapping C:\ and E:\ killed my Windows boot, so I just reinstalled. [​IMG]

    I also seem to be having another problem now.. my ethernet adapter refuses to work in Windows XP even with latest drivers (gives me Limited or no connectivity).
     
  6. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Drivers?
     
  7. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    mobo drivers?
     
  8. Tenshigure

    Newcomer Tenshigure Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    #1) Assuming you're using Windows XP, install something like TweakUI and you'll have the option to turn off the warnings of low disk space on the hard drive in question. It'll also do all the regedits for you.

    #2) You don't need to assign a drive letter to the swap partition, effectively making it invisible to you and the rest of the system using the same TweakUI program listed above (oh yea, linkage: http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/downloa...powertoys.mspx)

    #3) Uninstall the Ethernet from Device Manager and let it auto-detect again. Windows will install a default driver set for it and it'll work just fine (normally). If it's a Wireless...well, find the proper drivers and reinstall in the same location.

    Hope this helps.
     
  9. coolbho3000
    OP

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Urza, I am sure have the latest drivers for the device. [​IMG]

    offtopic, I have the latest drivers for my mobo. Dell is too cheap to upgrade their drivers...

    Tenshigure, I have the drive problems all fixed now, but thanks for reminding me I need to use tweakui on this computer. I'll try uninstalling the adapter but I don't think that will work.
     
  10. coolbho3000
    OP

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Solved. Simply by, resetting the modem. Thank you for all your helps. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page