PAL Luigi's Mansion issues - Dios Mios

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by KhaderWelaye, Jan 21, 2013.

Jan 21, 2013
  1. KhaderWelaye
    OP

    Member KhaderWelaye GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    United States
    Hi there,

    I'm trying to play the PAL version of Luigi's Mansion, and I cannot for the life of me get the game to force NTSC output.

    It shows here in the compatibility list that it should work with 480p: http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/DIOS_MIOS_Lite_Compatibility_List

    But when I try and set the game to 480p, it just jumps to some glitchy green screen after the Dios Mios logo and goes black. Forcing NTSC displays nothing on the screen.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    I own the physical disk, so I don't care what I really play it with. I've tried GCoS on the Gamecube, region forcing on the Wii with Gecko, forcing video with Swiss-GC, and nothing seems to be working.
     
  2. Kouen Hasuki

    Member Kouen Hasuki Kouen the Cyber Husky

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,388
    Location:
    Gaming Bunker
    Country:
    Norway
    Tried the NTSC version or is there a reason you want to use the PAL version
     
  3. KhaderWelaye
    OP

    Member KhaderWelaye GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    United States
    The Hidden Mansion is much more elaborate in the PAL version than the NTSC version, which is the only reason I purchased it.
     
  4. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Try Devolution, that might work.
     
  5. Kouen Hasuki

    Member Kouen Hasuki Kouen the Cyber Husky

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,388
    Location:
    Gaming Bunker
    Country:
    Norway
    So just setting 60hz mode still gives you issues? Sorry I've only played the PAL release on a PAL cube
     
  6. KhaderWelaye
    OP

    Member KhaderWelaye GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    United States
    PAL Luigi's Mansion doesn't have native 60hz support. I tried forcing 60hz but I just got a blank screen like I did trying to force NTSC. I'll try devolution soon.
     
  7. KhaderWelaye
    OP

    Member KhaderWelaye GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    United States
    Forcing NTSC, PAL60, and 480p with Devolution also gave me no luck unfortunately... Hmm...
     
  8. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    The NTSC version has a prompt on game start asking if you want to use 480p. (you don't need to force it in the loader, it's done by the game).

    The PAL version doesn't have that option? keep B button pressed when the game boot, it often force a re-display of that video switching message (when available, of course).
    Maybe the PAL game wasn't progressive compatible :(

    I didn't know the hidden mansion was different than the first play.
    I thought it was the same game, in hard. I will have to play the hidden mansion then :P

    Edit:
    Oh, it's only the difficulty then. different boss strategy and harder to defeat. I will buy the 3DS sequel instead.
     
  9. KhaderWelaye
    OP

    Member KhaderWelaye GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    United States
    Yea the PAL game, no matter what I seem to do, forces itself back to PAL 50hz, and the holding B does nothing unfortunately :/

    I snagged this list off MarioWiki of The Hidden Mansion changes:


     

Share This Page