Ordering from DealExtreme

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by DragoonC, Jul 21, 2009.

Jul 21, 2009

Ordering from DealExtreme by DragoonC at 2:43 PM (1,918 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. DragoonC
    OP

    Newcomer DragoonC Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Sweden
    I got a quick question. So I bought a R4i for me and my friend which both didn't work so it's safe to say that it's complete garbage. Tried anything from older firmware's and what have you but I've decided to take it back to the store. Now, I was thinking of getting an Acekard 2.1i from DealExtreme. But just do be safe I want to ask if it is 100% sure that the flashcard reader and Acekard 2.1i will work on my PAL DSlite as well as the reader?

    Thanks!
     


  2. Takeshi

    Member Takeshi GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Country:
    Germany
    For DSlite you should get the Acekard 2.1, as there's no such thing as an Acekard 2.1i! Also, it works with absolutely no problems on a PAL DSlite.
     
  3. DragoonC
    OP

    Newcomer DragoonC Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Sweden
    Allright, then it is an Acekard 2.1! I can't believe how much cheaper it is from that site. Here in Sweden they cost around 60$. And thanks for the quick answer!
     
  4. hackermatt1337

    Newcomer hackermatt1337 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    chesterfield michigan
    Country:
    United States
    well, the acekard 2i works for all 3 nintendo ds's, but even so, i'd get the acekard 2.1, since it's a little cheeper than the ackeard 2i, eather way, yeah it'll work fine, dealsextream is my main scourse for anything modding related
     
  5. DragoonC
    OP

    Newcomer DragoonC Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Sweden
    Allright. Actually I think I'll go with 2i (it's a bit newer?) and since they cost around 60$ here i still save money so I could as well go for the best flash card. Also any suggestions of what flashcard reader I should get?
     
  6. bach3609

    Member bach3609 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    367
    Location:
    Loading................
    Country:
    Vietnam
    xD i got a red box r4i and it works great for me, but i prefer acekard 2 [​IMG] btw if you dont have a dsi get a acekard2.1 because the 2i uses the same firmware as the acekard 2.1

    EDIT: Btw the acekard 2i and the acekard 2.1 are not the best flashcard, currently the cyclods is the best for ds/ds lite. Once the cyclodsi comes out, it'll probably be way better [​IMG]
     
  7. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    A clear example: Ignorance at it's best!

    1. R4i is a clone. Did you expect it to be better than the AK2?
    2. CycloDS may have RTS and In-Game guide, but that's another 30-40 bucks out of your wallet. RTS is for people who can't see the "save" button in Phoenix Wright.
     
  8. Spikey

    Member Spikey Your Special Someone

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,284
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]
    I'd personally recommend just getting the Acekard 2i because it doesn't cost much more and if you ever decide you want to upgrade to the DSi ever you won't need to buy yet another flashcart. Acekard 2i works on all DS models, not just the DSi.
     
  9. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    but the ak2i has been shipping with contact issues, msd seat issues, msd slot issues, and msd spring issues. i know more than a few people who had the msd slot just die and/or the spring break to a point it can't be repaired. also you read so often on many forums about people who have contact issues. either the cart is not recognized or the msd isn't recognized and the firmware freezes at "loading...". i've never experienced these issues with any of my 2.1s. i still say if you don't have the dsi get the 2.1. if you get a dsi its another $15 later in life to get an "i" linker. by then, hopefully, the dsi mode will be open and true "dsi" flash linkers will be available.

    -another world
     
  10. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    summary of what aw said:
    if you're planning to get a dsi, get the 2i. If you're not, don't, because maybe in the future more stable/better "i" carts will be out there.
     
  11. phoenixclaws

    Member phoenixclaws GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    *shrugs* I'm just glad i got a good Acekard 2i.
    I might get a DSi but I'm sticking with my DSLite for now and a couple bucks didn't kill me.
    [​IMG] DealExtreme is a good service for me so far.
     
  12. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, I haven't really had any problems with DX, I can't say their service is too professional. I asked if they were gonna carry the M3i, and the person who responded didn't even know when it was gonna be released. [​IMG] But he said that they would carry it, so I guess we'll just have to wait and see for that...
     
  13. DragoonC
    OP

    Newcomer DragoonC Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Sweden
    Allright, I returned to my store which took a look at my R4i and they said that they've fixed it. I just got back home and tried to move the folders into my memory card again, but with the same result. Is this something that often happens? Because I was thinking of maybe skipping a 2.1 for a M3i, but what if it won't take my memory card aswell?

    Considering that I would have to order it online I don't want to wait and get a card that won't work on me. There seem to be some people recommending CycloDS, Acekard 2.1 and M3i, so I don't know which one to choose, which one has the most features and support and which on that is most unlikely to not run games or break down.
     
  14. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    if you have no intention to upgrade from DSL to DSi
    then just get either cycloDS, ak2.1 or M3 real
    there isn't any different between m3i and m3 real

    which to get?that depends on what you want?
    is value added feature like RTS, slow motion, wii connectivity important for you?
    if yes, get cycloDS

    if you are those who eats with how beautiful a menu can be (surpisingly many of them live and die of how good sakura is - one of the m3 firmware) then go for m3
    yeah m3 comes with features like RTS but overall features are not as good as cycloDS

    last but not least
    ak2..(it doesn't have those value added features as mentioned)
    why get ak2? because AKAIO (custom firmware for acekard) is AWESOME [​IMG]
    It provides you frequent updates, good rom compatibility and nice cheat engine from AKAIO [​IMG]
     
  15. zuron7

    Member zuron7 RBYG

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,369
    Location:
    GPS not available in this area
    Country:
    India
    wish there was a dsi mode cart out there.
    I am waiting for it.
     
  16. DragoonC
    OP

    Newcomer DragoonC Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Sweden
    Oh, this is a tough one. The money isn't the issue considering that I have about 60$ to spend so I should be able to affoard anyone of them. However, my main concern is that I want a card that looks nice, plays 100% of the homebrew and new releases, plays local wi-fi and are not bound to get corrupted or crash like my R4i did. Which one is the least likely to get outdated in a near future?

    Is Cyclo DS Evo my card or the mysterious Acekard 2.1 AKAIO?
     
  17. hackermatt1337

    Newcomer hackermatt1337 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    chesterfield michigan
    Country:
    United States
    well you have nothing to worry about, the cyclo ds is prolly the finest ds lite flashkart out their, but its too expensive for me, and the acekard 2.1, is what i have, and i love it dearly. if you have the money to spend i'd get the cyclo, since it's AMAZING features liek in game guides, real time save, soft reset, in game options, and SOOOOO many other extra features that no other ds flashkart haz, however, only get it if you plan on using em, if you don't, get to acekard, since its a amazing flashkart, and will never go obsolete for ds lite
     
  18. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    60?
    just get BOTH [​IMG]
    i will not further elaborate but suggesting you go browse around the forum
    lots of comparison
    lots of pros and cons
    so it will help you on your decision

    by the way, i don't homebrew so i can't answer your Question [​IMG]
    however, i will stick with ak2 and pray team AKAIO would never give up hope on us
     
  19. DragoonC
    OP

    Newcomer DragoonC Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Sweden
    Allright! I'm ordering a CycloDS Evo for 50$ since it's seems to still be the best card around and I seemingly won't have any problems running future games I buy as well. Also the slowmotion feature is really ace when it comes to games such as Contra [​IMG].

    Thanks for the great help! Superb forum I must say!
     
  20. awssk8er

    Member awssk8er GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    DealExtreme is awesome, except for the fact that it took 2 months to get my Acekard2i (I live in the U.S.).
     

Share This Page