One problem leads to another.

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by HawtDawg, Jun 30, 2009.

Jun 30, 2009

One problem leads to another. by HawtDawg at 1:44 AM (1,625 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. HawtDawg
    OP

    Newcomer HawtDawg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Hello.

    So basically, after a long day of flashing my NEC drive to read DVD-Rs, installing the correct cIOS and retrieving Verbatim DVDs from the local Best Buy (Memorex's for some reason wouldn't burn), I still continue to hit dead ends. I finally gave up and decided to ask for help.

    I am using imgburner.

    I have compiled all .rars into one .iso from the folder (the game is The Conduit, btw). I THINK I'm supposed to use the "Write Image File to Disc" option (it's only logical). I have tried write speeds 2.4x and 2x. There IS enough room. The .iso is 4.37 GB and the DVD is 4.7 (obviously).

    One time, when I did it at 2.4x, the game ID and other information such as "PAL60forced=No" came up, but then an unreadable error appeared behind the other text. I tried it like 3 times.

    Just now, when I was using that same CD to see what exactly came up, the screen actually flashed and went black (as if the game was starting), but then it says

    "An error has occurred
    Press the Eject Button, remove the
    Game Disc, and turn off the power to the
    console. Please read the Wii Operations
    Manual for further instructions."

    and then, I tried again, and the same error popped up in the background (I carefully read it to make out DVD Read Error (and then some numbers, most likely 349 like I have been getting).

    I am using Backup Launcher 0.3 gamma
    IOS249

    I have hit quite the roadblock.

    Any suggestions?

    EDIT: I just tried using the x4 write speed, and now the screen with this:
    "An error has occurred
    Press the Eject Button, remove the
    Game Disc, and turn off the power to the
    console. Please read the Wii Operations
    Manual for further instructions."
    comes up all the time. Maybe I need to do it on x8? (I know it's not recommended).
     
  2. markedmanner

    Newcomer markedmanner Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    I recommend trying Neogamma. It is the best option for playing backup disc. I am sure it will play conduit. As far as the burning goes Im not sure what is going on. But you could try a different burning program. Google search for Cdburnerxp it is another good free one.
     
  3. HawtDawg
    OP

    Newcomer HawtDawg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Much thanks, sir.

    Your help is much appreciated, I am going to try this now.

    Okay, tried it.

    NOW I get Error #001: Unauthorized device has been detected.

    I also updated the Wii Menu beforehand.
     
  4. shtonkalot

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm recommending you burn at the discs rated speed, probably 16X.
    I have found that I get the most reliable DVD burns in my current setup burning at 16X max. Your mileage may vary.
     
  5. DaXIthR

    Newcomer DaXIthR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    imgburn is an outstanding burner. Sony branded DVDs are also exceptional.

    As a last resort, I would try using a brand new set of RARs. Re-compile them if you must. I assume you have the game (The Conduit) in which case, you can download the ISO from somewhere.

    It's my guess that the RARs got corrupted somewhere.
     
  6. HawtDawg
    OP

    Newcomer HawtDawg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, I have seen many people say that 2-4 is the most reliable write speed. I would try your suggestion... but I only have two DVD-R's left and I think it might have to do with my Wii.

    The Conduit prompts a system update when you start it up (on the regular disc), right? Would that be required? (I'm not sure, I already updated my Wii to the most current update).

    Also, may I add that I have tried ALL of these IOS wads:
    IOS38-64-v3609.wad
    IOS53-64-v4113.wad
    IOS55-64-v4633.wad

    And last but not least, on the normal Backup Loader by wiigator, I get Error #002, and now on this NeoGamma one I get Error #001. Interesting.

    (Sorry about all of this information).
     
  7. HawtDawg
    OP

    Newcomer HawtDawg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, that was one of my worries, that I compiled them wrong.

    I do think I compiled them correctly, though.

    I just extracted one of the RAR's to the folder and it automatically extracted the rest of them.

    The first half of the rXX files are .rars, but the second half just have the .rXX extension (Ex: r30-r57)

    Also, is there a point to the .sfv file? I didn't see it get extracted into the .iso when I was watching the progress.
     
  8. Jaz808

    Member Jaz808 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    337
    Location:
    Melb Aus
    Country:
    Australia
    Thats normal for half the files to be rars and the rest just r.30-r57 ect, if you dibled clicked the first rar and then hit extract, that correct, as long as WinRar didnt give you an error you are fine

    What cios are you using ?
     
  9. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    001 error in NeoGamma? --> Either you are trying Wii Sports Resort, or you use the broken cIOS rev12.
     
  10. HawtDawg
    OP

    Newcomer HawtDawg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Oh yeah?

    Could you kindly give me a link to the right cIOS then, please? :]

    (Not trying Wii Sports Resort).
     
  11. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    There's a link inside this:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=123307
     
  12. HawtDawg
    OP

    Newcomer HawtDawg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    How exactly is cIOS38rev13 supposed to be installed? The folder is in the apps directory, is it its own app in the homebrew channel?
     
  13. HawtDawg
    OP

    Newcomer HawtDawg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    EDIT: For some reason it double posted...
     
  14. henkie

    Newcomer henkie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Netherlands
    -rename cIOS38_rev13-Installer.dol to: boot.dol
    -open homebrew channel
    -select \apps\cIOS38_rev13-Installer
    -Select IOS Version: IOS249
    -installation mode: Network installation

    If are not connected to the internet with your Wii, choose the other option
     
  15. HawtDawg
    OP

    Newcomer HawtDawg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Much thanks to you! Although I figured that out before I read this post, lol.

    Now if only I knew how to explore the contents of an .iso so I can experiment with this.

    Might as well ask what the easiest way is here.
     

Share This Page