Homebrew NTR CFW Pokemon Ultra Moon

tripz

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 15, 2017
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
44
Country
United States
Hello everyone I was wondering if some one could help me with soft-resting when I try to stream it locks up the ds and I have to hard reset
I can do it in X/Y and ORAS so I'm wondering if something got changed in Um I tried the method of booting up ntr debugger and entering the commands but that didn't work
anyways have a nice day!
 
Last edited by tripz,

ThoD

GBATemp Addict (apparently), but more like "bored"
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2017
Messages
3,631
Trophies
1
Age
28
XP
3,061
Country
Greece
What are you trying to do exactly? I assume you meant soft-resetting, but what are you using NTR for? You need to explain a bit better.
 

ThoD

GBATemp Addict (apparently), but more like "bored"
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2017
Messages
3,631
Trophies
1
Age
28
XP
3,061
Country
Greece
You can't soft-reset if you have NTR CFW. It's a limitation.
The classic soft-reset that's been in all Pokemon games so far works fine. I'm confused about what they meant exactly since NTR only prevents the general soft-reset, not the L+R+Start+Select one.
 

Real.96

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2015
Messages
1,055
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
965
Country
Italy
This bug will be fixed, now that Ntr is open source. PCalc dev took in consideration to fix it.
 

ThoD

GBATemp Addict (apparently), but more like "bored"
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2017
Messages
3,631
Trophies
1
Age
28
XP
3,061
Country
Greece
Does it only happen when streaming? Because UM with NTR on O2DS works just fine when soft-resetting using the button combination I mentioned earlier.:/
 

KunoichiZ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
8,830
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
4,597
Country
United States
Does it only happen when streaming? Because UM with NTR on O2DS works just fine when soft-resetting using the button combination I mentioned earlier.:/
I think streaming disables soft-resetting, even with the button combination.
 

ThoD

GBATemp Addict (apparently), but more like "bored"
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2017
Messages
3,631
Trophies
1
Age
28
XP
3,061
Country
Greece
I think streaming disables soft-resetting, even with the button combination.
The button combo is an actual game function though, completely unrelated to NTR or CFW. It makes the game reset without reloading the game. Soft-resetting by closing and reopenning doesn't work because NTR closes when you do that or crashes depending on how you do it. Streaming Sun/Moon and doing it with the button combo works for example, so why wouldn't US/UM work too?

@tripz Can you try with the button combo and check if it works with that? It's L+R+Start+Select.
 

KunoichiZ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
8,830
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
4,597
Country
United States
The button combo is an actual game function though, completely unrelated to NTR or CFW. It makes the game reset without reloading the game. Soft-resetting by closing and reopenning doesn't work because NTR closes when you do that or crashes depending on how you do it. Streaming Sun/Moon and doing it with the button combo works for example, so why wouldn't US/UM work too?

@tripz Can you try with the button combo and check if it works with that? It's L+R+Start+Select.
If OP is running a plugin (cheats or otherwise), soft-resetting in-game doesn't work. It'll work without a plugin.
 

tripz

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 15, 2017
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
44
Country
United States
The button combo is an actual game function though, completely unrelated to NTR or CFW. It makes the game reset without reloading the game. Soft-resetting by closing and reopenning doesn't work because NTR closes when you do that or crashes depending on how you do it. Streaming Sun/Moon and doing it with the button combo works for example, so why wouldn't US/UM work too?

@tripz Can you try with the button combo and check if it works with that? It's L+R+Start+Select.
I tried it still a black screen and just hard-locks and I'm not using any cheats only streaming
 
  • Like
Reactions: ThoD

ThoD

GBATemp Addict (apparently), but more like "bored"
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2017
Messages
3,631
Trophies
1
Age
28
XP
3,061
Country
Greece
I tried it still a black screen and just hard-locks and I'm not using any cheats only streaming
I see... Are you using a plugin in general? If you are and don't really need it, try without. It could just be that plugin+stream is the problem that the soft-reset locks up... Otherwise, I guess it's a bug that needs fixing, S/M worked fine even with plugin and stream on a N3DS when I tried a month ago.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tripz

tripz

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 15, 2017
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
44
Country
United States
I see... Are you using a plugin in general? If you are and don't really need it, try without. It could just be that plugin+stream is the problem that the soft-reset locks up... Otherwise, I guess it's a bug that needs fixing, S/M worked fine even with plugin and stream on a N3DS when I tried a month ago.
No plugins what so ever NTR I know that I have to use the NFC patch on Snicker stream to even get it to work I'm not sure if thats the problem
 

ThoD

GBATemp Addict (apparently), but more like "bored"
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2017
Messages
3,631
Trophies
1
Age
28
XP
3,061
Country
Greece
No plugins what so ever NTR I know that I have to use the NFC patch on Snicker stream to even get it to work I'm not sure if thats the problem
No, it's not. I guess you just have to wait for a new version and hope it fixes... Tough luck!
 

dkiefer

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 28, 2017
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
51
Country
United States
I see... Are you using a plugin in general? If you are and don't really need it, try without. It could just be that plugin+stream is the problem that the soft-reset locks up... Otherwise, I guess it's a bug that needs fixing, S/M worked fine even with plugin and stream on a N3DS when I tried a month ago.

I'm having the same problem with Sun and Moon and also Ultra Sun and Moon, streaming using NitroStream and Kit-Kat Slim. I'm shiny hunting and soft resetting for legendaries and ultra beasts. Every time I do though, the 3DS freezes with black screens, and I have to hold the power button to hard reset the console. I'm using InputRedirect from the Luma Rosalina menu to be able to stream even if the game isn't using WiFi. So this is basically a bug that will hopefully get fixed some day?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • DragonMals
  • BakerMan
    I rather enjoy a life of taking it easy. I haven't reached that life yet though.
    DragonMals tempBOT: DragonMals has joined the room.