1. d.d.d.

    d.d.d. GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    Your Wii is set up for hdd loading and well, since you've tried various WW, a US copy, and they reset after 30min, I can only speculate that it's a hard drive issue.
    You might want to try out DM Lite and run WW off an SD card to see if it still craps out at 30min. If it does, then you can be most assuredly sure that it's the hard drive then (which would be weird since your Wii games play just fine).
     
  2. sam6555

    sam6555 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Country:

    Installed DML and ran WW off of the 3DS SD card itself. it ran for a lot longer, game only stopped when I turned the console off myself. Reason for this was that the loading screens took forever. Guessing the 3DS SD card is pretty slow. Ordered a 32GB 30MB/s SD, should be here in a few days. It does seem weird how the HDD works perfectly for Wii games but screws up for GC games (assuming this is the issue) has this ever happened with any other HDD model?

    I did let WW run for a few hours.
     
  3. Maxternal

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Country:
    For an SD card, it also helps if the card is formatted in FAT32/FAT16 with a 64k cluster size. You might have a really small cluster size. That could effect your loading times. Reformatting it with 64k clusters would help you in that case.
     
  4. sam6555

    sam6555 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Cluster size looke like 4 KB. I'll try 64...Still gonna get the 32GB though. Pokemon X required the SD >:

    FAT32 wont format to 64k, no matter if using the standard format function, or command prompt. Biggest cluster size for FAT32 is 16k.

    Gonna just use FAT (default) 64k cluster. Hopefully it'll work.

    Tried doing FAT32 in largest cluster size and FAT in largest. With both attempts I created a notepad document and they only used 4k on disk. This isn't right, is it?
     
  5. d.d.d.

    d.d.d. GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    Well at least we could verify that your system is working properly and it wasn't some weird random thing. For SD, back when I used DML, I only had an 8GB class 6 card, and it worked just fine when I ran F-Zero GX - but the first time I didn't have the SD card formatted to 64k clusters and that caused slower loading between stages (after formatting to 64k, it went faster than disc loading). The free SD card with the 3DS may be slower but I've never taken it out of my 3DS for anything else.
    As for your HDD, I can't recall reading if anyone has had the same problem (Wii OK, GC not). I remember you said your HDD wasn't on that compatibility list - not that it matters as Wii games ran, but if you wanted to experiment, try an old internal HDD (if you have an extra one) and put it in an internal>external USB case (pretty cheap). Or if you have a friend that also has a Wii + HDD, borrow their HDD to try out and if the GC games work, try to get the same one.
    It just seems like an unfortunate coincidence that you ended up with a semi-compatible HDD.
     
  6. Danobabyful

    Danobabyful Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    So I softmodded my wii with ModMii, and when I go to install Priiloader, it just says "Priiloader not found, aborting mission." What am I doing wrong?
     
  7. calmwaters

    calmwaters Cat's best friend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,718
    Country:
    United States
    You're not doing anything wrong; Priiloader just won't respond. I'd leave it alone; you don't really need it anyway. (at least I don't)
     
  8. Danobabyful

    Danobabyful Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the reply, I fixed the problem, on the install menu, it said Press (+/A) to update/install priiloader, and I was pressing plus on my wiimote and it wouldn't work. So I plugged in a gamecube controller and pressed A and it worked...
     
    calmwaters likes this.
  9. mr. fancypants

    mr. fancypants that´s ´Sir´ for you!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    Netherlands
    well i hav e a wii (duhh) for 9 months now and i use usb loader GX frequently but now is the problem the loader recognize the usb and it als says:1.16 GB from the 4 GB free but it shows no games ( it should show mario kart)

    anyone knows how to fix this problem?
     
  10. sam6555

    sam6555 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Got my 30MB/s 32GB SD card earlier. How do I format it with 64k. Windows formatter does it to 32kb even when 64 is selected. I was noticing longer than normal disc door transitions with WW.
     
  11. Maxternal

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Country:
    That's odd that it doesn't do the size that it says it's doing.

    There's some other programs that you can use to format. First one that comes to mind is this : http://www.ridgecrop.demon.co.uk/index.htm?guiformat.htm
    Wii Backup Manager can also format to FAT32. Check to see if either of those has the 64k option and if they actually obey it.
     
  12. d.d.d.

    d.d.d. GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    Tthe Panasonic SD formatter might be able do it as well but I haven't used it in a long time.
     
  13. Maxternal

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Country:
    The thing is I don't think that gives you any option about cluster size and just gives you the "official" size. I might be wrong, though. I haven't used the thing in a long time either.
     
  14. d.d.d.

    d.d.d. GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    That does sound familiar unfortunately... Well, there is always Ease Partition manager.
     
  15. sam6555

    sam6555 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Using this one right now. Formatting to 64k (hopefully) not o quick format. I want it done properly. :P

    Format over: Still says 32kb notepad file. /= Weird.

    I'll try Easus...still 32kb.
     
  16. Maxternal

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Country:
    odd

    oh well, the speed of a 32k format isn't THAT bad. 4k was just horrible
     
  17. d.d.d.

    d.d.d. GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    It's not bad, but not the faster than disc loading that we've become used to now.

    So weird... If EaseUS still doesn't work, try it on another PC. I don't know if that will help or not but, we're kinda running low on options here.
     
  18. Hiccup

    Hiccup GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    967
    Country:
    Is there a Riivolution alternative for GameCube games?
    Please read the linked page to find out what Riivolution does.
     
  19. TheWon

    TheWon GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    384
    Country:
    United States
    I have a a couple of questions for you guys. My 7 year old Wii the other day decided to die on me. I kept getting rapid blue flashes and then just a black screen. I was able to re install a old BootMii file to get it to work again. Because I used a old file I lost a lot of data. Now it seems when I try to install anything to it. It automatically seems to brick again.

    My questions are..
    1. Is my Wii beyond saving?
    2. Could I just reformat it, and then just hack it again?
    3. Has there ever been a way to just take my Bootmii file, and move it to another system?
     
  20. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Country:
    Canada
    Where the the place where I can get the latest dios mios lite?
    Its clearly not the google code site since it doesn't work.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - PARADISE,