Hacking Question No RCM detection on a hackable Switch (according to serial) serial)

rzkruspe

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 8, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
62
Country
Germany
Hi,

A friend of mine just purchased a Switch off eBay so that we can repair it and install CFW afterwards.
The serial starts with XAJ4001xxxx so it should be unpatched.

After the repairs were done, the console shows two major problems :
-It takes 0,47A when powered off (normal) and only 0,09A when powered on.
-It seems to enter RCM but isn't detected on the PC.


As far as the repairs go, we had to replace the M92 and the BQ to make it charge, and the connector for good measure.
Then we had to swap the P13USB that had a nice burn mark on it !
Now everything works except for the issues that I mentioned earlier.
And I have no idea why it's doing this. Maybe the burn mark is a sign that something else burned elsewhere..

PS: we work in electronic repair and I have fixed lots of different problems on Switches, but this particular one is making me go crazy...

Thanks in advance.
 
Last edited by rzkruspe,

bruhreid

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 8, 2020
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
50
Country
United States
Maybe your PC doesn't have the correct drivers installed? If you are using TegraRCMGui, there's an option to install the driver in one of the tabs.
 

rzkruspe

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 8, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
62
Country
Germany
Maybe your PC doesn't have the correct drivers installed? If you are using TegraRCMGui, there's an option to install the driver in one of the tabs.

I did install the drivers, the PC detects other switches in RCM.
And I tried plugging our Switch on another computer, it wasn't detected either.
 

wartutor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
609
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,417
Country
United States
If its on and booted into normal operating software (horizon i think its called) is it recognized by your computer as a nintendo switch? Does it charge off the computer? Sounds like a bad usb-c
 

rzkruspe

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 8, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
62
Country
Germany
Try another cable
Try another jig
Try another laptop

Did that, same thing.

If its on and booted into normal operating software (horizon i think its called) is it recognized by your computer as a nintendo switch? Does it charge off the computer? Sounds like a bad usb-c

It is not recognized by the computer, but it does charge.
Isn't that the exact behaviour of a patched Switch ?
 

rzkruspe

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 8, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
62
Country
Germany

Enlapse

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2014
Messages
263
Trophies
0
XP
729
Country
Perhaps this isn't the same case, but I had a friend that had a Switch with a serial code that wasn't supposed to be patched, but it was. After looking in the back of the console, the console was from year 2019, so you could try and check it out?
 
  • Like
Reactions: ELY_M

wartutor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
609
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,417
Country
United States
Did that, same thing.



It is not recognized by the computer, but it does charge.
Isn't that the exact behaviour of a patched Switch ?
If it charges but is not reconized as a switch when the switch is in its official firmware it sounds like you have the data side of your usb-c port isnt connected try testing that. When its booted in horizon and i connect my switch to the computer it is reconized as a nintendo switch.
 

rzkruspe

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 8, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
62
Country
Germany
It isn't recognized on my phone either (even though my personal switch is).

I just noticed something else, when the console is docked, the USB ports on the dock are turned off, I saw that with a USB ampmeter.

I have another (patched) console that does the same thing, and I never managed to fix it.
 

rzkruspe

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 8, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
62
Country
Germany
I have minor news
My other switch, the one that is supposedly patched and with which the USB ports don't work when docked.
It's actually a XAJ7001xxx. So it shouldn't be patched, but it exhibits the same issues as my friend's.

So I have something new to work on.
 

rzkruspe

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 8, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
62
Country
Germany
Now a major update.
I just fixed my other switch. Don't have the opportunity to test the dock's USBs for now but it is finally detected in RCM, and charging while the system is on.
The issue was indeed with the Data lines for USB but not the connector itself.
There is a double filter between the connector and the CPU which (I'm guessing) protects the CPU from any voltage surge.
(See pic)
That filter was burnt so I had to change it.

Now for my friend's console, it shows the same problem on the Data lines, but the filter is good. And the only component after that is the CPU..
 

Attachments

  • 20201013_151723.jpg
    20201013_151723.jpg
    1,001.9 KB · Views: 129
  • Like
Reactions: Essometer

rzkruspe

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 8, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
62
Country
Germany
Ok, so I decided to desolder the CPU on a donor board in order to confirm that the Data lines run straight to the CPU.
And they do.

So I guess the USB controller is integrated to the CPU, and the one on our Switch is dead, even though everything else works fine.

I think we can close the thread and mark it solved.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Lol