1. xs4all

    xs4all GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Australia
    As @ut2k4master already stated, correct, for the time being, keep your EmuNAND on 6.2 if you still want to to boot into EmuNAND.

    It's recommended that you use EmuNAND purely in OFFLINE mode to prevent BAN, nothing is 100% safe but being completely offline in EmuNAND will minimise the risk since your not connecting online in anyway.
    Use your Real NAND to go online, eShop, online gaming, I keep my EmuNAND on the same SD CARD, at the moment, from what I have read, Nintendo is not doing any file checking on the SD CARD to detect CFW/EmuNAND/Etc...
    Even though EmuNAND has the ability to go online, it doesn't mean you should, as it will certainly raise some flags, the point of EmuNAND is to keep it separate from your Real NAND where you do all your dirty stuff, play XCI's, install NSP's and homebrew without touching your Real NAND.

    At the end of day, your Switch, you do what you think it's best.
     
    BBBcoon likes this.
  2. AlbusGellert

    AlbusGellert Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is it safe?
     
  3. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,881
    Country:
    Australia
    For cfw. Not yet. for SXOS users... if your emunand is on 6.2 you can update your sys nand
     
  4. digipimp75

    digipimp75 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    United States
    SX OS user here. Sooo let's just say I updated sysnand to 7.01, but I have a 6.1 sysnand backup. I don't currently use emuNAND, but could I create one and restore my 6.1 backup there, thus having 7.01 sysnand and 6.1 emunand?


    EDIT: NM, I'm good now.
     
    Last edited by digipimp75, Feb 20, 2019
  5. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,116
    Country:
    Germany
    I know this thread here is a little bit old. But is it safe to update to 7.0/7.0.1? As a cfw user? Im currently on 6.2.0
     
  6. Draxzelex

    OP Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    13,377
    Country:
    United States
    While CFW fully supports 7.X, some homebrew applications are still experiencing issues such as Tinfoil being able to install .NSP files on the SD card (although USB/network install work just fine). I also don't know of anything that truly requires 7.X that you can't just install by ignoring the firmware requirement during installation or rebuilding with NSC Builder so I would say remain on 6.2 until something really important needs 7.X
     
  7. starburst

    starburst GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Spain
    I read that updates like Zelda BotW's 1.60 make use of frequency scaling, a hardware option only available on firmware 7+. It could be that the same update on a lower firmware would simply not scale the frequency (instead of crash), but a low-level feature like this would matter. Again, this is what I have read.
     
    Last edited by starburst, Apr 30, 2019
  8. Draxzelex

    OP Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    13,377
    Country:
    United States
    While you are correct, keep in mind you are quoting something from the beginning of April (April 8th), before the Legend of Zelda update was released (April 25th). Also, thank you for reviving this thread.
     
  9. colking

    colking GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm having trouble installing a new nsp file (7.0 game). Does that mean I should update my switch from 6.0.2 to 7.0 with ChoiDujourNX? I was trying to avoid updating anymore...But is that the only way to install newer games? Thanks
     
  10. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,881
    Country:
    Australia
    Unless it can be repacked/ignore firmware version then yes you need to update.
     
    colking likes this.
  11. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,116
    Country:
    Germany
    You can update via the updater. But after updating reboot in Hekate to avoid burning fuses
     
    colking likes this.
  12. colking

    colking GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks. I think I know how but is there a video tutorial on how to reboot in Hekate? Just make sure I don't burn fuse.
     
  13. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,881
    Country:
    Australia
    Dont risk it if you aren't comfy doing it, it requires entering rcm after the reboot but before it can load.
     
  14. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,116
    Country:
    Germany
    Hold the Vol - Button after updating
     
  15. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,881
    Country:
    Australia
    it requires jig and vol + not - >.>

    you only get one shot though, if you mess up, the fuses burn.
     
  16. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,116
    Country:
    Germany
    It don't requires a jig for a reboot. And yes you have to hold vol - in Hekate. Vol + is for SX OS
     
    colking likes this.
  17. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,881
    Country:
    Australia
    After officially updating what you initially said, you need to enter RCM before the Nintendo bootloader or fuses will burn.

    This is done by using a jig and volume +
     
    colking likes this.
  18. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,116
    Country:
    Germany
    You don't need to boot in the rcm. Restart the console normally and hold the vol- button. And tadah. You're in the hekate Menu.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    And a reboot does not requires a jig and dongle. Reboot payload works without jig.
     
  19. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,881
    Country:
    Australia
    If you update officially, it automatically reboots you normally...
     
  20. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,116
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah. The payload reboots. That means you don't need a jig.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Nintendo, Firmware, Switch