Nintendo DS Wi-fi question

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by Symbolik, Mar 14, 2013.

  1. Symbolik
    OP

    Symbolik Member

    Newcomer
    16
    1
    Feb 24, 2013
    Each time I connect a game to wi-fi it says that the Nintendo ds and game cart will be "registered" as one. Does this mean I can only go online with that game cart in the DS it was registered? Can anyone explain to me what it means and how it works? Thanks
     
  2. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,885
    2,264
    May 11, 2008
    United States
    It means your Friend Code is assigned your DS. If you try getting online using your game cart on another DS, your Friend Code will be reset.
     
  3. Symbolik
    OP

    Symbolik Member

    Newcomer
    16
    1
    Feb 24, 2013
    If the friend code is reset, will I lose anything?
     
  4. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,885
    2,264
    May 11, 2008
    United States
    You will lose your Friend Code and any friends in your Friend Roster. You won't lose any game progress.
     
  5. Symbolik
    OP

    Symbolik Member

    Newcomer
    16
    1
    Feb 24, 2013
    Also, what about Pokemon global link? Don't I need the Friend code to register an account or something?
     
  6. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,885
    2,264
    May 11, 2008
    United States
    Your Global Link account will still be linked to your Pokemon save file, regardless of NDS being used. You will, however, lose your Friend Code and Pal Pad friends. On the Global Link, you will lose your Game Pals and Trade Pals. Your Dream Pals will remain.