Hacking Newbie with Questions

Youser

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Hello everyone,

I am new to the scene and am quite confused with all the different hacking options.

All I want to do is play back ups on my 2ds. I was advised to go for an R4 card. I did a little research and ordered the R4i Gold Pro 2018. I'm still waiting for it to arrive but have now come across the term 'Time Bomb' on the comments sections of some youtube videos I've been watching.

I have learnt that these cards come with an expiry date and stop working after a year or so. Is there anything I can do to bypass this? I've seen Luma3ds and YSmenu mentioned but as a newbie I don't really know what these things do. or if these are the things I need to research.

I also understand that my card might not have a time bomb but would like to be prepared in case it does.

Thanks

Youser

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Have done a little more reading and have seen mentions of installing Wood R4.

I noticed in the features of the card that I bought it mentions,
  • Cooperated with wood firmware developing team,it is the first one to update wood kernel and be compatible with the latest games
Does this mean I'm ok?

These are the rest of the features (Cannot post link to the card)

• Cooperated with wood firmware developing team,it is the first one to update wood kernel and be compatible with the latest games
  • The First Card Supports 3DS /3DS XL /2DS 11.6.0
  • The world's first host system to support the DSi /DSi XL upgrade to V1.45
  • Compatible with all DS editions of different kinds of language
  • Supports DSL / DSi / LL / XL
  • Supports Action Replay cheat
  • DLDI auto-patching
  • Supports SDHC (Micro SD 4G,8G,16G,32G)
  • 2nd generation storage device (no booting tool required)
  • Flush fitting slot 1 card
  • Uses MicroSD card, FAT16 or 32
  • Supports any MicroSD card speed with no lag in game
  • Supports Clean ROM, drag and drop. Works on any OS
  • Built in NoPass