1. EmBlaze

    OP EmBlaze GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Canada
    Hello all. Recently I've discovered Ps3Xploit and installed REBUG 4.8.1-2 REX edition on my CECH-2501B PS3 slim. It works great so far, but now I have a few questions:

    1. How do you add custom folders in webman? Basically I want to separate my backed up games from downloaded ones. They're all PS3 and in the GAMES folder.
    2. How do I safeguard the CFW and disable the 4.8.2 system update? I don't want the risk of losing my CFW, so a way to prevent the system from updating would be ideal.
    3. Lastly, is there a way to change the boot/startup selection from PSN to Games? I don't really plan on playing online at all.

    Thanks to all who replies constructively.
     
  2. yardie

    yardie Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,334
    Country:
    United States
  3. EmBlaze

    OP EmBlaze GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Canada
    My fault for not including more details, but I can Google and I did not find my answers, which is why I'm asking.

    1. According to the only relevant link I can find, it only works with PS3ISO.
    2. I can still manually update (I think) and there's a notification on boot. A spoofer could work, though isn't that for enabling PSN?
    3. OK.

    Really, LMGTFY is an annoying lag compared to plain Google links though.
     
  4. EmBlaze

    OP EmBlaze GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Canada
    I used SEN Enabler, so 2 and 3 are solved. 1 seems pretty darn obscure for some reason though...

    My FTP kept failing after 2+ hours, even with webman set to a timeout of 0. So I disabled Power Saving for now.
     
  5. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo and his tropane alkaloids
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    6,877
    Country:
    Italy
    Settings > system > what's new > off
    (once you get a bit more familiar with editing system files, you can outright delete icons you don't care about)

    There are no forced or automatic updates in the first place, if you are really worried about selecting system update > internet and pressing OK at least four times (with a long download time to turn off the power in the meanwhile) settings > ★ debug > system update debug > on
     
    EmBlaze likes this.
  6. EmBlaze

    OP EmBlaze GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Canada
    OK, thanks! I'll try that once my FTP is done (or it fails again).

    SEN Enabler seemed to have worked fine, but maybe I'll enable that as well lol.
     
  7. EmBlaze

    OP EmBlaze GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Canada
    It still powers off even after I disable power save whether I use Multiman, Webman, or Rebug Toolbox to FTP...

    *Using latest portable FileZilla with 1 simultaneous connection and active transfer mode.
     
  8. dude22072

    dude22072 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    Is there not a 4.82 version of PS3Xploit? Rebug has 4.82 releases so it only makes sense that other CFWs would have a 4.82 version as well.
     
  9. EmBlaze

    OP EmBlaze GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't know of any... Cause apparently I had to download a modified version of Rebug 4.81 from Twitter for it.

    I'll try unplugging my PS Move camera and FTP again tonight. And those tweaks of course.

    *Actually, maybe I'll update CFW. I mostly followed the wololo.net tutorial. Any recommended ones?
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2018
  10. EmBlaze

    OP EmBlaze GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Canada
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/ps3-shutting-off-while-ftp.491158/#post-7725571
    Although power saving was still off when I unapplied cobra/webman, after reapplying them and unplugging the PS Move camera, FTP didn't timeout cause of auto shutdown anymore.

    Is it normal for the PS3 to use ~30GB more space than what I calculated by checking the properties of every folder in hdd0 with multiman file manager?

    Lastly, a proper answer to question #1 would be great! Thanks again to Ryccardo for those tweaks, they worked well.
     
  11. democracy

    democracy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    909
    Country:
    United States
    Wouldn't deleting system icons break fw requiring a re-install from recovery? At least that was my experience when I last tried it.

    Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
     
  12. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo and his tropane alkaloids
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    6,877
    Country:
    Italy
    No (unless you do it wrong or we're thinking of different approaches? I edit the xmb's XMLs)
    Removed all the PS Store links and /app_home/ps3_game just fine :)
     
  13. EmBlaze

    OP EmBlaze GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Canada
    Newbie mistake: I assumed categorizing via PS3ISO wouldn't work cause of 4GB size limit... Except PS3 filesystem doesn't have one! So forget #1.

    Speaking of the filesystem, is the missing ~30GB caused by hidden system files needed for the OS? Thanks.

    *At first, the ISOs were at least ordered with folder name. Then I tried adding * in the beginning to have them first, but now webman orders everything alphabetically by game name again. Doesn't change when I restored original name. Maybe I was imagining things...
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2018
  14. EmBlaze

    OP EmBlaze GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Canada
    Seriously, Webman won't order using PS3ISO subfolder name anymore. How do I reset or fix it? Disable grouping of content in "webMAN Games" does nothing.
    Why is it so hard to have custom categories for games? I don't mind using another plugin that does the job. PSP was quite the simple sh*t indeed...

    And it turned off automatically during FTP again, ignoring my power save and timeout settings. Next time I'll try Auto-off debug.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2018
  15. yardie

    yardie Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,334
    Country:
    United States
    cant believe youre complaining about getting free games
    the horror
     
  16. EmBlaze

    OP EmBlaze GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Canada
    *Goes to feed large fantasy humanoids*
    Actually I'll do something productive like trying CFW Extras Category after sMAN.

    *Well that failed. Pretty much expected it reading the description, but just made sure since virtually nobody is interested in organizing their Webman games according to Google.

    **May look into LaunchPad and XML files tomorrow.

    ***LaunchPad wouldn't work, even after updating webMAN. But PS3ISO subfolders now sort fine. Problem solved, except that I'd like to get the ~30GB of space freed if possible...

    ****Except that my Sports Champion BD rip is still near the bottom, not sorted by folder name. Family plays it quite a bit. EDIT: Fixed by deleting webMAN cache!
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2018
  17. EmBlaze

    OP EmBlaze GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks to all who have contributed! I believe everything is solved. To summarize:
    1) PS3ISO subfolders. Clear webMAN cache if not working.
    2) SEN Enabler spoof. Software Update Debug (thanks @Ryccardo). Or update CFW.
    3) https://gbatemp.net/threads/newbie-...ystem-update-and-startup.498024/#post-7862683
    4) Auto-off Debug if still powering off during FTP.
    5) PS3 reserves ~10% of HDD space, unfortunately.

    *Every time after I play a game and reboot, those games are ordered alphabetically again unless I clear cache.
    Fortunately, disabling PARAM.SFO solved the problem. Maybe changing another Webman setting would be better, but w/e...
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2018
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, regarding, startup