New Vi crashes on bootup

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by fenixphlame, Feb 19, 2010.

Feb 19, 2010

New Vi crashes on bootup by fenixphlame at 7:28 PM (1,585 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. fenixphlame
    OP

    Newcomer fenixphlame Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, as by the post count you might notice I am new.

    I have a problem with a new Ez-flash Vi I just bought. I first downloaded the newest Kernal, and firmware update from the website, put 3 games onto the drive in a folder called Games, and the system never got past "booting"

    After a half hour of various arrangements I got it to start up when I had one game in the root, and the firmware update not on the card. Checking the settings I find the firmware to be V15 for the 805 hardware version. as far as I can tell, this didn't need to be updated, so I didn't bother.

    However, after that first time it turned on, it has failed to do so again. any combination of games, in root, or folders, the system doesnt get past when the circles are spinning around, if I wait for another 30 seconds after it freezes, the upper screen glitches out.

    I tried a few more combinations, Holding L starts a passme thing, but neither choice it gives me does anything other then freeze the system. Holding R has the spinning circles freeze in a different position, and if I let go of R after it freezes, the system starts up. Once it is up however pressing any button freezes it again.

    I dont know if it is a hardware problem because it did start up completely before, I just dont know what could have caused the whole system to stop working like this.

    Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Probably a microSD problem.
    Can you tell me what brand, size, made in, class you have bought ?
     
  3. fenixphlame
    OP

    Newcomer fenixphlame Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    What I have written on the little card in order is this:
    Micro SD HD (I know this used to be a problem, and bought the Vi because it supported HD)
    a 4 with a circle around it
    4GB
    C04G Taiwan
    PNY

    Thanks for any help. If I need a new card what should I look for? This is going to be a wallmart/Meijers/best buy run if I need a new one so anything I should look for on the package.
     
  4. fenixphlame
    OP

    Newcomer fenixphlame Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I went to the store today and went through their racks, an astounding number of the Micro SD cards here were of the same model number. I did find a couple SanDisc that were not however. One of which was a 8Gig that had a price mislabel for 14.99, I grabbed it.

    after testing a few minutes ago, I can say for sure that this one works, thanks for telling me it was the card, and not something else.

    Good job on the very helpful forum. Sorry I cant really do much to repay.
     
  5. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Good.

    BTW, there is still something wrong with those Taïwan microSD. You are not the only one to have reported that kind of problem.

    Thanks for the feedback.
     
  6. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    8gb kingston taiwan also give problems, i think the kernel needs to be updated.
     
  7. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
  8. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    sorry but i buy from official kingston reseller, i dont have fake card, all have valid serial and packing.

    it just a problem with ezflash because the microsd cards work fine in all other ds flashcards i sell.
    can you tell me the solution to this problem? on the ezflash.cn forum you said there was a solution for this?
     
  9. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It's a fake kingston Taïwan i was talking. No serial number printed on a kingston product is not normal and C08G is a Toshiba part number. Toshiba microSD are made in Japan, not Taïwan !
    Now your Kingston Taïwan is labeled C08G also ?

    The fact a microSD work on another flashcart doesn't mean it's not a fake.
    It's just other flashcart use DMA mode that's all.

    BTW, there is a solution already but in beta test so not yet released. It's a flash update.
     
  10. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yes, my kingston taiwan 8gb is labeled with C08G but it has a serial number.

    my customers buy alot ezflash with 8gb so its not good for my business now, i hope the update come out soon.
    your sales department asked me to return my stock of ezflash [​IMG]
     
  11. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Don't get fooled, i'm not from ez team. [​IMG]

    I will ask them if beta test are finished on this flash upgrader.
    Chinese holidays just ended so i think i will have the answer soon.

    BTW, those C08G Taïwan are not legit for me. As i told you, C08G is a part number used on Toshiba product.
    As far as i know Toshiba factories are in Japan not in Taïwan.

    I could be wrong ... it happened ... sometime. [​IMG]
     
  12. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Reported to windirt.
    Wait and see now. [​IMG]
     
  13. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I sent you a pm on ezflash forum, i have 200pcs ezflash vi and 8gb kingston taiwan that cant work together [​IMG] please fix the issue.
     
  14. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Check your PM on ezflash USA forum.
     

Share This Page