New user: Help syncing second Wii remote to Homebrew Channel

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Caliryder209, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. Caliryder209
    OP

    Newcomer Caliryder209 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Hey everyone, just to let you know, I'm new here.

    Okay, so, here's the scenario: I got my Wii when it first came out and used the packaged Wii remote as my primary one, but I also got a second, separately packaged Wii remote the same day and used that as my secondary remote. Fast forward a couple years and something happens to my secondary remote that requires it to be synced (the press-sync-button-on-Wii-then-sync-button-on-Wii remote way) every time I power on my Wii, again when starting a game, and yet again when exiting a game and returning to the System Menu. Fast forward a little more and my primary remote stops working, causing me to rely on my secondary. I've had no problem using my secondary Wii remote in place of my primary, or navigating the Homebrew Channel with my Gamecube controller, up until now. I want to patch my Super Smash Bros Brawl with custom Character, music, and stage files, but to do this requires the use of programs like Cheat Code Manager, Gecko OS, or Riivolution, all of which offer no Gamecube controller support.

    Here's my situation: I want to use any of the three aforementioned applications to patch Brawl but, as I've stated before, the Wii remote loses its sync to the console when starting a game (including Homebrew Channel) and needs to be re-synced after it starts. I can't do this while running Homebrew Channel or any of its applications for some reason; I try to re-sync the wiimote but it won't connect. Is there a way to do so while running Homebrew Channel?
     
  2. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Follow your owner manual for permanent synch on Wiimote. You do not need to synch your wiimote in HBC.
     
  3. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,531
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
  4. Caliryder209
    OP

    Newcomer Caliryder209 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, that's everyone's solution to anything Wii remote synchronization related. What you don't understand is that I have to go through that process (although only for one remote) EVERY TIME I power on my Wii (with the power button on the console, can't power it on with my remote), start a game, enter a new channel, or return to the System Menu. It works for any of those instances, except when I enter HBC. What I'm basically trying to say here is my Wii remote won't permanently sync to the console.
    .
     
  5. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,531
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    OK, second idea: delete known wiimotes from wii and resync all:
    1. Start the wii, press the home button on the working wiimote, press the sync button on the wii for 30 seconds to delete all known wiimotes (you will see that the wiimote will loose sync and you can't resync)
    2. Press the sync button on the wii once (still in the system menu) and press the sync button on the first wiimote and WAIT until the first one has sync again. Now you can do point 2 with your other wiimotes.
     
  6. Caliryder209
    OP

    Newcomer Caliryder209 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Well, you see, I don't really have a "working" Wii remote, only the one I use that has to be synced every time I start something ( the one I set this thread up to fix in the first place). The other one that came packaged with the Wii no longer works. So, i really don't need to perform the second part of step two. I did, however, perform steps one and the first part of step two. The remote synced as usual, but when I started HBC, it disconnected as always and still couldn't re-sync it.
     
  7. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,531
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    The second part of step one is the most important step because it sounds like the known wiimote registration in the wii is broken or something like this, so please delete it first by holding the sync button on the wii for 30 seconds to make sure that the wii can correctly re-register the wiimotes!
     
  8. Caliryder209
    OP

    Newcomer Caliryder209 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm.. I made a mistake. Forget what I said about skipping the second part of step two. Now, my Wii's Wiimote registration should already be deleted since I held the sync button on the Wii for 30 seconds until my remote disconnected. I re-synced it within the System Menu, but it still disconnects when starting HBC and won't reconnect.
     
  9. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,531
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
  10. Caliryder209
    OP

    Newcomer Caliryder209 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Still can't connect Wii remote when in HBC. Here's what I did:

    1. Installed IOS 58
    2. Ran HackMii installer
    3. chose "Uninstall Homebrew Channel" option
    4. Chose "install Homebrew Channel" option
    5. returned to Homebrew Channel
    6. Tried to connect Wii remote, but failed.
     

Share This Page