Hacking New Mario u with pro controller

Loke

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
321
Trophies
0
XP
672
Country
Netherlands
Hi,

I want to play new Super Mario Bros with the pro controller. I've read the update should support the controller but after installing the update with wup installer it still doesn't connect. After syncing it shuts down when reentering the game. Anyone has an idea to fix this?
 

Loke

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
321
Trophies
0
XP
672
Country
Netherlands
I think it's a knockoff. They work fine with all games but Mario u tho. They look the same without wii u on it
 

pedro702

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
11,095
Trophies
1
Age
31
XP
5,982
Country
Portugal
no idea they made a patch to make the game work with wiiu pro i have the bundle of new super mario bros u + super luigi u and never jnew they did so i never even tryed using my wiiu pro lol.
 
Last edited by pedro702,

Kohmei

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2013
Messages
822
Trophies
0
XP
1,001
Country
United States
i have the game officialy and new super mario bros never supported the wiiu pro original or otherwise.
The game originally didn't support it but one of the updates they made added support. I definitely played NSMBU and SLU with a pro controller, and mine is official
 
S

Saiyan Lusitano

Guest
NSMBU is compatible with the WUPC after the update as I've played it myself, so if it doesn't sync try it wired or play with the GamePad (unnecessarily big for a game that uses two buttons and a D-PAD).
 

EclipseSin

Ignorant Wizard
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2015
Messages
2,063
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
221b Baker Street
XP
1,695
Country
United Kingdom
Are you sure the game is properly updated? I have a knockoff that works fine (PowerA), even with Nintendont with some fiddling. Mine works with Mario U, but the one or two things it didn't work with, it connects but just freezes the console up. I'd try doing the update again.

By the way, since you used WUP Installer, I hope you're not loading the game through loadiine. You have to apply the updates to the game on SD card for them to load. Just thought I'd mention it incase.
 

Loke

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
321
Trophies
0
XP
672
Country
Netherlands
Oooh so that's why it doesn't work. I used an guide to update the game and it told me to use the wup installer and let it update on my wii. I load the game using loadiine. As I wasn't able to find a guide how to update the game itself on sd card, do you have a link that explains it?

Edit. Can't I just copy the data over in data management? It is properly installed on the wii.

Ps. It took me 2 hours to get the kernel exploit to run for the wup installer.. Lol
 
Last edited by Loke,

EclipseSin

Ignorant Wizard
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2015
Messages
2,063
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
221b Baker Street
XP
1,695
Country
United Kingdom
Oooh so that's why it doesn't work. I used an guide to update the game and it told me to use the wup installer and let it update on my wii. I load the game using loadiine. As I wasn't able to find a guide how to update the game itself on sd card, do you have a link that explains it?

Edit. Can't I just copy the data over in data management? It is properly installed on the wii.

Ps. It took me 2 hours to get the kernel exploit to run for the wup installer.. Lol
No, you can't. Has nothing to do with being properly installed. As I said, you have to apply the updates to the game. It's different than the console seeing new files and using those instead.
this is a quick post i made about it. you can also use nusgrabbers files (theyre the same anyway), but you'll need to go find cdecrypt.

https://gbatemp.net/threads/officia...ility-list-thread.398616/page-61#post-5799782
 

Loke

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
321
Trophies
0
XP
672
Country
Netherlands
Wow.. That was the first way I tried.. I thought I did something wrong when I watched a guide to check my steps..

Do I need to do anything with the update on my wii or can I just leave it on?

Anyway thanks for your help, I'll check it as soon as I'm home.

Edit. It works just fine over at a friend. If it doesn't work at home, I'll just delete the update on the wii. Thx for the help!
 
Last edited by Loke,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    still only 600-700 nits i have to use the contrast enhancer to make bright lights look as bright as they are supposed to but the alternative was the next tier up and buying a demo model that would've been about the same cost, that had 1000 nits but issues with black crush
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Where prices are low
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    very dark scenes are more common than very bright scenes so i think i made the right choice
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    there was also a sony with worse local dimming and the glow was really apparent
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is non linear anyway. 100 nits is about 50% of the peak output of a 10,000 nit display.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    "very dark scenes are more common than very bright scenes" not in the games i play
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    really have to buy the top end model to get a tv that doesnt have any of those compromises and that would've had more dimming zones too but i am not made o money
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Julie_Pilgrim "very bright" is essentially pure white
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    pure white doesn't show up all that much it's mainly when looking at a bright sky
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and if the clouds in the sky have slightly less definition to them because i turned on the contrast enhancer who cares
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    that's not important
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i can't tell the difference
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but i can certainly tell the difference with black crush if i'm watching a scifi movie and i can't see wtf is going on
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is logarithmic, it's not linear. And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness. OLED'S look brighter then LCD's even when both are set to the same nit values because of the higher contrast ratio on OLED's
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's have a 3D look
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Charging port is more likely to fry up or battery fail before the display tbh lol
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness" it's not about perceived brightness it's about all HDR content in TV and movies being mastered for 1000 nits so it doesn't look right with anything lower, it's also about dynamic range
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "OLED's have a 3D look" no they don't lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    As an owner of a OLED and you saying that you never seen an OLED I think I know what I'm talking about lol. I'm not talking about 3D as in 3D glasses. I'm talking about depth and pop in the picture
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I mean to be fair og vitas are still kicking and not many have suffered from pixel bleed and they're going on nearly 10 years
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's can get away with a lower peak brightness and still provide punchy HDR because of their contrast ratio. Like I said human vision is logarithmic. The higher the peak brightness the diminishing returns in perceived brightness.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Just get 5 years enjoyment out of it until Nintendy releases something and everyone forgets about switch games lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    @The Real Jdbye Oleds hit around 750 nits nowadays. The difference between a 1000 nit and a 750 nit isn't huge. It's only about a 4% increase in perceived brightness. Not huge at all. You'll need at least 2000 nit displays to notice a bigger difference.
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Read this thread it explains it. 1000 nits is not a huge jump from 750 the LG OLEDs can hit. As I said human vision is non linear.
    +2
    Gift
  • Gift
    SG854 @ SG854: https://www.avsforum.com/threads/colourspace-zro-low-cost-manual-calibration-software-thread.3175... +1