Hardware New Joycon Firmware

g00s3y

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
760
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
FL
XP
1,874
Country
United States
So with the 6.0 update, comes a new update for the joycon firmware 3.8B, old was 3.89.

What exactly have they changed with each firmware update for the joycons? Is there a change log somewhere?
 

Canna

Bad Ass Poisonous Mushroom
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2018
Messages
1,379
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
AZ
XP
1,458
Country
United States
Backed me joycons up with joycon toolkit anyway.
so can restore old if i wish, but doubt il update them to latest now im sure it would be some sort of bridge pin detection.. but who knows im sure someone will let us know.
 

tom2199

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
255
Trophies
0
XP
470
Country
Germany
Backed me joycons up with joycon toolkit anyway.
so can restore old if i wish, but doubt il update them to latest now im sure it would be some sort of bridge pin detection.. but who knows im sure someone will let us know.
that backup doesn't include firmware updates, only the settings of the joycon. you can't downgrade the joycons that easily.
 

Canna

Bad Ass Poisonous Mushroom
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2018
Messages
1,379
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
AZ
XP
1,458
Country
United States
Last edited by Canna,

tom2199

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
255
Trophies
0
XP
470
Country
Germany
is that so..weres the info on that ?


Says here backup spi flash,,And full restore .
https://gbatemp.net/threads/tool-joy-con-toolkit.478560/
you could just read the thread you know
Yes.
You can't touch these areas (firmware data) in SPI by normal means (especially in windows).
Otherwise Joy-Con toolkit would have a firmware upgrader.

Also the upgrades never touch your factory data (where color, serial, type, parameters, etc are) and your calibration data.
The full restore, restores just these 2 areas only (the only areas that you can edit through Joy-Con Toolkit).
 

Flying Scotsman

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2016
Messages
346
Trophies
0
XP
1,112
Country
United States
Use a jig... erm excuse me the joycon is not a jig, we can still use jigs
No I mean if you've modified your Joycon to act like a jig (i.e soldered the pins or crossed them over). There was a PSA before about Joycons (which have been modified) not working Wirelessly etc, so it's most likely the same situation.
 

Canna

Bad Ass Poisonous Mushroom
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2018
Messages
1,379
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
AZ
XP
1,458
Country
United States
No I mean if you've modified your Joycon to act like a jig (i.e soldered the pins or crossed them over). There was a PSA before about Joycons (which have been modified) not working Wirelessly etc, so it's most likely the same situation.
they were not working cause of 9-10 bridge permanently, and another reason why im no fan of joycon tinfoil jig method..

Waiting for ashura to show up in 3 2 1 :lol:

But hey, lets see what news appears on the joycon update so we know for sure and not guess..
 
Last edited by Canna,

g00s3y

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
760
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
FL
XP
1,874
Country
United States
So it seems if you update to 6.0, the first time you attach joycons to the system, it will automatically ask you to update the controller. It's not forced, so you don't have to accept it.
 

Ryupower

Brood
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
2,975
Trophies
0
Website
techmantis.net
XP
1,884
Country
United States
not just the joycons,
the Pro controller has a update as well, dock the switch, and connect the controller via use then pick the update controllers option in the system setting menu

not sure what the update for pro controller dose
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: These pills knocked me out