New DSL won't flash

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by pesprowl, Apr 21, 2010.

Apr 21, 2010

New DSL won't flash by pesprowl at 6:33 PM (1,703 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. pesprowl
    OP

    Newcomer pesprowl Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I have been using Acekard2 and/or R4DS to replace firmware on DSL. This, of course, requires running the appropriate installer and shorting the SL1 contacts. My recently purchased NDSL runs the installer, but the progress indicator stays at 000% while shorting SL1. I tried an older unit( purchased Nov 2009) and it works fine. I tried a friends new unit, with no luck. Are the newer units secured, or is an alternate write enable method required?

    Thanks
    G
     
  2. Matthew

    Member Matthew GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I doubt there are any new security measures, this is weird. Also, why DO you want to flash your DS, its one of the biggest causes of bricking it.
     
  3. pesprowl
    OP

    Newcomer pesprowl Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I intend to send it to a friend who is institutionalized. He is allowed games, but pictochat has to go. replacement firmware with no picto is allowable.
     
  4. retiredjerk

    Member retiredjerk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    wow a prison checks for pictochat? crazy..lol
     
  5. pesprowl
    OP

    Newcomer pesprowl Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    A mental institution, actually. My friends and I have a suite.
     
  6. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's not something I would go round telling people lol.
     
  7. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Why does Pictochat have to go? It's not like it can cause any harm...
     
  8. Vulpes Abnocto

    Former Staff Vulpes Abnocto Drinks, Knows Things

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,600
    Country:
    United States
    If you wanted to organize a riot, an escape, a drug deal, or any number of activities in a small place, pictochat would be a useful tool.
     
  9. dnniwa485

    Member dnniwa485 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Country:
    well, i heard that some DSL have some kind of new coating that guard the SL1 against shorting, so you might need to cleaned up that first.
     

Share This Page