New Acekard 2i doesn't work

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Acenima, Dec 22, 2011.

Dec 22, 2011

New Acekard 2i doesn't work by Acenima at 3:55 AM (1,493 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Acenima
    OP

    Member Acenima GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I just got a new Acekard 2i from dscartshop and I formatted the SD and put akaio on the root and put in my DS Phat to test it out and the DS can't read the acekard so im guessing its defective. Its not my DS though because my DSTT and all my other games work on the DS phat. The acekard fits in firmly so it can't be a contact issue and I tried blowing inside the DS and on the acekard.
     
  2. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    you have a contact issue. i've recently received 12 brand new acekards, all of them have contact issues on my XL. the acekard 2i is built like shite and there isn't much we can do about it.

    how firm it pushes in has little to do with the ak2i's contact issue. it has to do with the distance between the front of the card (side with the sticker) and the wall of the ds slot. it also has to do with the placement of the PCB and/or if it is slightly skewed on one side.

    give this a read: http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Solving_Acekard_2i_Contact_Issues

    -another world
     
  3. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    try one of the acekard paper tricks its heres some where
     
  4. Acenima
    OP

    Member Acenima GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    This is unacceptable from such a card >:( I bought this over the supercard dstwo and now I regret it
     
  5. MakiManPR

    Banned MakiManPR Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    989
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Are you sure its not a clone?
     
  6. Acenima
    OP

    Member Acenima GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    It has the official acekard sticker on it and I used the code gbatemp for 3% off. Also I tried the paper trick aswell as tape and that didn't help at all. Customer service won't refund or anything until I return the product but I don't want to go through the trouble.
     
  7. porkiewpyne

    Member porkiewpyne Report-er

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,941
    Country:
    Australia
    Hmm weird. Just got an Acekard 2i from them too a couple of days earlier. Is your SD (I believe it's microSD btw but that is beside the point) card placed properly in? It is spring loaded right? Cos I sometimes forget that especially since my old cart.
     
  8. iTStorm

    Newcomer iTStorm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    India
    Even if a MicroSD isn't in the Acekard, the DS will detect the card if its in the DS.

    But if you try to start it, Acekard will just freeze saying "Loading" on the bottom screen.

    EDIT: BTW, I'm playing on a DS Lite.
     
  9. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    give this a read: http://gbatemp.net/topic/285787-your-ak2i-is-defective-or-dead-send-to-us-we-will-replace-it/

    also, all legit acekard have a 1 yr warranty. if your reseller won't refund your money, please first tell us who they are so we can all avoid them, and second try acekard@gmail.com. they may respond and offer you a replacement.

    for the paper trick, use a very thin bit of magazine paper. slide it under the pcb between the shell and the back side of the pcb. this will be enough to make contact. if it still doesn't work after that your card might actually have been DOA, but i would recommend that you further debug by trying it in a dslite. the lite seems to have a tighter slot (insert jokes here) than the phat, xl, dsi, and 3ds.

    -another world
     
  10. ficarra1002

    Member ficarra1002 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    My acekard gets stuck in my 3ds sometimes, and it has the occasional contact issue.
     
  11. Acenima
    OP

    Member Acenima GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    sorry for late reply, but I received it from dscartshop and tried it on a dslite and it didnt work. I tried slipping thin paper under the contact part but that didnt work. Its too much trouble sending it back. The customer service was horrible so im never buying from them again.
     
  12. Themanhunt

    Member Themanhunt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Had no trouble with my 2i in my DS Phat or my 3DS. Had no problems with it at all tbf.
     

Share This Page