Hacking Neogamma R9 Channels

Do you want all future versions of NeoGamma channels to have autoboot or no autoboot? (Do you need a

  • Autoboot needed

    Votes: 16 37.2%
  • Autoboot NOT needed

    Votes: 10 23.3%
  • Autoboot AND non-autoboot needed

    Votes: 17 39.5%

  • Total voters
    43

rahoul102

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
171
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
XP
123
Country
Canada
Update: All files from Beta 53 have been uploaded now. But I have removed the older ones (Beta 1 to 52), If you need any of those please tell me and I will upload them.

The Neogamma R8s are also have been reuploaded now in my R8 channel thread.
Multi-Mod-Manager uploaded.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Maximus1979

rahoul102

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
171
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
XP
123
Country
Canada
Update: All previous NeoGamma R9 beta and R8 RC channels were uploaded to mediafire. Like I've said in the first post, if there is or are some beta versions that's not included here, please ask me to upload them.
 

craigrs84

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
9
Trophies
0
XP
71
Country
United States
This should speed up file making for your autoboot channels. Add this under the defines to main.c:
Code:
// Needed for Autoboot code part 3
void identify_IOS(u8 ios_slot, u8 *ios_base, u32 *ios_revision, char *ios_string);
u32 screenheight;
char ios_info[64];

Uncomment autoboot part 1 and 2, then replace part 3 with this:
Code:
// Autoboot code part 3
if (autoboot)
{
clearmenu();
write_font(185, 125 + 1*24,true, "Launching Game");
identify_IOS(CIOS_VERSION, NULL, NULL, ios_info);
// Replace "b54" with the correct version
write_font(68, screenheight - 60,true, "NeoGamma R9 b54, %s", ios_info);
apploader();
sleep(6);
clearmenu();
} else
{
write_font(80, screenheight - 60,true, "Autoboot canceled");
VIDEO_WaitVSync();
t = time(NULL) + 3; // Wait 3 seconds for button pressing to stop
while (time(NULL) < t) ;
clearscreen(xfb, 20, screenheight - 60, 278, 24, 0x00800080);
}
And comment this out in apploader.c
Code:
tell_cIOS_to_return_to_channel();
Thanks again JoostinOnline. :) I will do that in the next version.

Could you tell me how does the screenheight variable get set? It looks like this just defines it and sets it to zero; I assume it's being set somewhere but couldn't understand how or where?

Thanks. Also have you ever tried to compile the GC_Source portion of the project? I'm not having any luck doing that - I wanted to change the banner image and some of the text.
 

JoostinOnline

Certified Crash Test Dummy
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
11,005
Trophies
1
Location
The Twilight Zone
Website
www.hacksden.com
XP
4,339
Country
United States
This should speed up file making for your autoboot channels. Add this under the defines to main.c:
Code:
// Needed for Autoboot code part 3
void identify_IOS(u8 ios_slot, u8 *ios_base, u32 *ios_revision, char *ios_string);
u32 screenheight;
char ios_info[64];

Uncomment autoboot part 1 and 2, then replace part 3 with this:
Code:
// Autoboot code part 3
if (autoboot)
{
clearmenu();
write_font(185, 125 + 1*24,true, "Launching Game");
identify_IOS(CIOS_VERSION, NULL, NULL, ios_info);
// Replace "b54" with the correct version
write_font(68, screenheight - 60,true, "NeoGamma R9 b54, %s", ios_info);
apploader();
sleep(6);
clearmenu();
} else
{
write_font(80, screenheight - 60,true, "Autoboot canceled");
VIDEO_WaitVSync();
t = time(NULL) + 3; // Wait 3 seconds for button pressing to stop
while (time(NULL) < t) ;
clearscreen(xfb, 20, screenheight - 60, 278, 24, 0x00800080);
}
And comment this out in apploader.c
Code:
tell_cIOS_to_return_to_channel();
Thanks again JoostinOnline. :) I will do that in the next version.

Could you tell me how does the screenheight variable get set? It looks like this just defines it and sets it to zero; I assume it's being set somewhere but couldn't understand how or where?

Thanks. Also have you ever tried to compile the GC_Source portion of the project? I'm not having any luck doing that - I wanted to change the banner image and some of the text.
screenheight is defined in tools.c within init_video
Code:
screenheight = rmode->xfbHeight;
If you had read devkitPPC.txt you would have seen this:
This application is complied using a modfied version of devkitPPC r21. The included gcc 4.5.1 produces
an error when compiling with the parameter -Os, but that is required to get the GC low plugin below 6KB.
In order to compile this project(the GC part to be precise), you need to have the files from gcc 4.4.3 in
your devkitPPC folder. (no need to delete gcc 4.5.1)
 

craigrs84

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
9
Trophies
0
XP
71
Country
United States
Thanks for the answer. Just looked through the source code again and I think I understand now! :)

It's very strange to look at C code and understand it after working with Java and C# for so many years.

Sorry, I didn't explain enough, I did read devKitPPC.txt but I'm very noob at wii development and don't know how to set up my devkitpro environment with the mixture of the newer gcc and the older gcc 4.4.3. I do have experience with Java/C#, and some C/C++ but I'm not very familiar with gcc or devkitpro in general. my C experience is mostly microsoft visual studio
 

gburgue

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
183
Trophies
1
XP
1,501
Country
Argentina
The link to downloqd WAD versiosns are dead. can you fix it please
I don't think the OP will answer your request, it has been a long time since it was seen in GBAtemp. However, I have some wads of this thread that I downloaded at the time. Here we go...

NeoGamma R9 Beta 56
NeoGamma R9 Beta 56 Autoboot (Returns to Wii Menu)

You could also go through this post to get an alternative version of the autoboot channel.

You probably already know but ... have you tried to load backups through an USB external HD? It is the definitive way to go.
 
Last edited by gburgue,

Arthur3dsFAN

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 5, 2019
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
66
Country
Spain
Ok
so i have a issue when trying to load a Pal Burned Mario Kart Wii but i get alot of errors
idk wat to do i burned it to play the popular mod of the game cus i cant use it
anyone gonna help me
 
Last edited by Arthur3dsFAN,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,973
Trophies
3
Location
Austria
XP
2,497
Country
Austria
  • Like
Reactions: Arthur3dsFAN

Arthur3dsFAN

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 5, 2019
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
66
Country
Spain
Last edited by Arthur3dsFAN,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,973
Trophies
3
Location
Austria
XP
2,497
Country
Austria
My iso isnt patched but i used Verbatin DVD-R 4.7 GB Disc to burn it
it always says errors but no crashes
UPDATE:My wii is from Fall 2008 so i jsut cant load em ;-;
i dont know what to do now i just wanna play ctgp revolution but i dont have the original disc

Oh,that is sad..:(

I looked at Amazon.es and the Game is still expensive...maybe have a Look on used Platforms ?
But please consider it is worth and you also need the ORIGINAL GAME for CTGP too.:)
 

universales

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 23, 2020
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
181
Country
Spain
This error is displayed when trying to download any file from "NeoGamma R9 Beta 56":
"This website / URL has been blocked from AdF.ly"
Please, solve that
 

noobita

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 6, 2020
Messages
19
Trophies
0
XP
67
Country
Indonesia
i have neogamma r4
its like my prehistoric memento
should i update or not? because i cant play just dance game.
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,814
Trophies
3
Age
38
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
9,804
Country
Cyprus
I don't think the OP will answer your request, it has been a long time since it was seen in GBAtemp. However, I have some wads of this thread that I downloaded at the time. Here we go...

NeoGamma R9 Beta 56
NeoGamma R9 Beta 56 Autoboot (Returns to Wii Menu)

You could also go through this post to get an alternative version of the autoboot channel.

You probably already know but ... have you tried to load backups through an USB external HD? It is the definitive way to go.
This works
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Lol rappers still promoting crypto