Need to update wii to access RB2 music store....safe?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Photokon, Jan 7, 2009.

  1. Photokon
    OP

    Newcomer Photokon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I've got an old 3.2U wii, but I need to upgrade to access the wii store. I'm playing a burned RB2 also. If I upgrade after having done all this homebrew stuff am I going to torch my wii? Will I still be able to update homebrew and all the softmod stuff after I upgrade? Add wads? etc. Thanks
     
  2. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Yes it is safe, it only updates what's on the Music Store, not the FW on your Wii...!!! [​IMG]
     
  3. eric_4_life

    Member eric_4_life GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    Canada
    The RB2 music store is not up yet and no, it is not safe. Keep your 3.2U, or you will not be able to access most homebrew, but it will not brick your Wii
     
  4. Vytaan

    Newcomer Vytaan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Doesn't it just update the music list though? I doubt it changes your firmware in any way...

    I had the same with Animal Crossing, had to install a update but it was only for WiiSpeak [​IMG]
     
  5. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    do you have rb2?
    did you update it?
    do you know any one that did?
    with what backgroud do you say that?
     
  6. Vytaan

    Newcomer Vytaan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I've got RB2 and I just tested it... I went to the 'Music Store', I connected to Nintendo WFC and then it just said 'No Rock Band Music Store data found'. Now that's weird... :S
     
  7. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    no, it's normal, it as nothing yet the same appends to me
     
  8. Vytaan

    Newcomer Vytaan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ohh, now I see XD okay, that makes sense of course [​IMG] forgot that there is no DLC up yet...
     
  9. Ga1l0w

    Member Ga1l0w GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Lolmart
    Country:
    Canada
    It shouldn't need to update though. At least guitar hero (legit) didn't need to. Avoid updates [​IMG]
     
  10. Ga1l0w

    Member Ga1l0w GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Lolmart
    Country:
    Canada
    It shouldn't need to update though. At least guitar hero (legit) didn't need to. Avoid updates [​IMG]
     
  11. Arek1985

    Newcomer Arek1985 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    Guitar Hero's music store did not have to update the system's firmware to acess the music store. Rockband 2 also requires no update, it's just the music store hasn't been released, but the game knows where the music store is to access it when it finally does go live. The only update that needed to be done was the update for the wii shop around the time of GH:WT's release.
     
  12. Photokon
    OP

    Newcomer Photokon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    ya, but i didn't do that update arek. I'm on an old 3.2U. What do I do? I can't access the wii shop channel now and I didn't get the message that vytaan got. It said I needed to start the wii shop channel or some crap.
     
  13. Photokon
    OP

    Newcomer Photokon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    so what is the consensus since there were different answers?
     
  14. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    The update is for The RB instruments, the music store still won't be opened for a little while.
     
  15. BryceOne

    BryceOne Newbie

    Did you install the "Safe 3.3 Update"? After the 3.3 firmware update, they released this "SAFE" 3.3 Update just so you can still access the WiiShop without actually updating your firmware and keep it at 3.2U.
     
  16. Photokon
    OP

    Newcomer Photokon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't do that bryce, is there a guide on that?
     
  17. AsosaYoung

    Member AsosaYoung GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    L B C
    Country:
    United States
    I have the Safe 3.3 update and can access Wiishop + Starfall will keep you from updating to another FW.
    3.2U TPHack, Softchip, Wii-ish_Force_NTSC_002_FIX about 3 weeks with no problems.
     
  18. BryceOne

    BryceOne Newbie

    Safe Update 3.3 (For USA Wii's)

    Just create a folder inside the APPS folder on the SD card (Folder can be named anything like 'Safe update'.
    Run Homebrew Channel and you'll find Safe 3.3 Update in the list. Run it and follow it's instructions.

    -- This is the info from the META file --
    ONLY REQUIRED IF YOU HAVE WIRELESS !!
    This fixes the issues with the 3.3 update that disables homebrew from working released Oct 23rd 2008.
    It updates the shop channel and installs a custom IOS5.
     
  19. Photokon
    OP

    Newcomer Photokon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    thanks man, I'll give it a shot [​IMG]
     

Share This Page