Need help getting my R4iTT working

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by zodac, Jun 23, 2013.

  1. zodac
    OP

    zodac Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 30, 2013
    Hi. I've got a 3DS with firmware v4.1.0-4E. I'm trying to use my R4iTT, but the 3DS doesn't recognise it. I know the R4 is fine, since it works on a DSL, but just doesn't appear on the 3DS.
    I went onto the website and updated the kernel and firmware (from this page). It didn't work, so then I tried using pretty much every file on this list, but again, no combination would get it working on the 3DS.
    Does anyone have any advice for what I should try next?
     
  2. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member
    27,883
    8,107
    Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
  3. zodac
    OP

    zodac Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 30, 2013
  4. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member
    27,883
    8,107
    Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    If it worked in the DSL before the update but doesn't now, it sounds like the update didn't run correctly and you've got a brick. You'll need a second flash cart in order to unbrick the first.
     
  5. zodac
    OP

    zodac Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 30, 2013

    No, sorry, let me clarify.

    It works perfectly fine in the DSL. I can run the apps and play roms, whatever. But it's simply not being recognised in the 3DS. I've tried flashing different firmwares but none are working, so I'm hoping someone can at least point me to the right firmware version (so I'm not constantly trying out different ones).
     
  6. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member
    27,883
    8,107
    Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Ah, misread the earlier one, thought it was a correction on my initial reading.

    If it works in one model but not in another, it's a contact issue. Flash carts are not made by Nintendo, they're not made in their factories or to their specifications, and are often cheaply-built as well. It's quite common for a cart to work in one model of DS, but not a newer one, we see it all the time.
     
  7. zodac
    OP

    zodac Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 30, 2013

    Ok, cool. I'll give that a try and report back. :)
     
  8. zodac
    OP

    zodac Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 30, 2013
    No luck I'm afraid. Can't see the contacts in the 3DS (not as obvious as the DSL), and neither of the paper tricks (cart loose in Slot 1, or the PCB being too low) worked. :(
     
  9. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member
    27,883
    8,107
    Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Does the icon not show up in the DSL (so the same as the 3DS) if you put the R4 in without the MicroSD in it?
     
  10. zodac
    OP

    zodac Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Apr 30, 2013
    Without the MicroSD, it boots into the R4 and freezes on the first screen (where it's loading from the SD). So it is still recognised by the DSL even without the MicroSD.