Hacking Need help finding LATEST sysupdater

Rak

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
79
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
112
Country
Guys, in light of justpingo trowing the towel I decided to go ahead an risk it with sysupdater. But I don't want to take TOO much risk and I'm having trouble determining exactly which version of sysupdater I should use and were to get it from.
Is the one linked on this thread the safest one?
https://gbatemp.net/threads/simple-guide-to-downgrading-your-3ds.407888/
If not, can someone provide me with a link to were I can get it from?
 

Rak

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
79
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
112
Country
Just wait for Gateway, their downgrades are the best.
I'm more scared of that Tuesday update than the chance of having horrible luck and hard briking. I'm not a Total_Noob, I know my way around hacking stuff. My only problem is that there seems to be different versions of sysupdater by different people and I don't know which one is the most recent one.
 

Tony_93

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2015
Messages
2,453
Trophies
0
Location
California
XP
2,245
Country
United States
I'm more scared of that Tuesday update than the chance of having horrible luck and hard briking. I'm not a Total_Noob, I know my way around hacking stuff. My only problem is that there seems to be different versions of sysupdater by different people and I don't know which one is the most recent one.

OR you could get your system hardmodded and dump your nand to make it update/brick proof for about $40 tops...

Which seems like a bargain to me unless you don't have a job...
 
Last edited by Tony_93,
  • Like
Reactions: vb_encryption_vb

Rak

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
79
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
112
Country
OR you could get your system hardmodded and dump your nand to make it update/brick proof for about $40 tops...

Which seems like a bargain to me unless you don't work...

Yeah. If I had the money for that, I would pay for the games. I don't own a single 3ds game, and the system was a gift (by someone who has no idea this thing need games).

I will use the one I got from this video:
It specifies that it is the one which should just soft brick. Better than staying like I am now (no games) or paying for gateway.
 
Last edited by Rak,

Rak

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
79
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
112
Country
Just want to confirm a successful downgrade on a n3ds xl on the first try.
Is there anyway for me to check if the downgrade is a frankenware? And I remember people talking about their n3ds working properly for a couple hours after a downgrade, and them getting a brick later on. Is that still a thing or was it completely fixed?
Will proceed to install rxTools. Hope it all turns out ok, this overwhelming success is kinda scary.
 

Robert McCoy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2015
Messages
445
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
899
Country
United States
Just want to confirm a successful downgrade on a n3ds xl on the first try.
Is there anyway for me to check if the downgrade is a frankenware? And I remember people talking about their n3ds working properly for a couple hours after a downgrade, and them getting a brick later on. Is that still a thing or was it completely fixed?
Will proceed to install rxTools. Hope it all turns out ok, this overwhelming success is kinda scary.


How is your n3ds XL doing, any report of it going full on frankenware or is it still running properly? I just downgraded my n3ds and it works fine so far. Worried about it bricking later on by itself. I noticed it takes awhile longer to first boot up than it used to.

edit: did you get rxTools running fine after downgrading?
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,097
Trophies
0
Location
Alola
XP
11,915
Country
Norway
Just want to confirm a successful downgrade on a n3ds xl on the first try.
Is there anyway for me to check if the downgrade is a frankenware? And I remember people talking about their n3ds working properly for a couple hours after a downgrade, and them getting a brick later on. Is that still a thing or was it completely fixed?
Will proceed to install rxTools. Hope it all turns out ok, this overwhelming success is kinda scary.
Yes.
https://github.com/svanheulen/downgrade_check/releases

I haven't heard of any 3DSes being spontaneously bricked, I don't see how that could even happen. They probably did something that bricked it.
 

Rak

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
79
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
112
Country
How is your n3ds XL doing, any report of it going full on frankenware or is it still running properly? I just downgraded my n3ds and it works fine so far. Worried about it bricking later on by itself. I noticed it takes awhile longer to first boot up than it used to.

edit: did you get rxTools running fine after downgrading?
Sorry for being so late, but for the record I will write what happened afterwards:
I failed to install any CFW and after checking and retrying a bunch of times I concluded my n3ds was on frankenware. Back them you could still update to 10.3 with Nintendo servers so I did that and tried again. The second downgrade was completely successful and now I have a n3ds on reinand 10.5 :yay3ds:
 
  • Like
Reactions: Robert McCoy

TheDarkGreninja

Listening to a song ad nauseam
Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
2,498
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
On his bed
XP
1,279
Country
United Kingdom
Just for the record, this is the best sysupdater to use: https://gbatemp.net/threads/wip-safesysupdater.409392/
I thought julians was? Anyways I had downgraded perfectly with julians sysupdater but it turned out i had franken firmware (or that was what I had guessed) so I updated to 10.5, I should've waited for Gateway is the moral of the story here... (I also recommend a hard mod franken firmware will suck less if you do that.)
 
Last edited by TheDarkGreninja,

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Searinox tempBOT:
    Searinox has left the room.
  • Costello @ Costello:
    filthy europeans
  • Costello @ Costello:
    mighty asians
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Recovering lost partitions sucks ass
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Attempting to recover a 2tb worth of movies and this 320 weirdly won't initialize
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    huraay for keeping backups
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    huraay for that backup drive being the issue back up a back up of a
    back ups :teach:
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    if only you could encode the backup in your DNA and carry it with you
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    In 20 years we'll probably have micro sd cards implants in our heads
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    microsd?
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I'd be okay with getting my brain taken out and replaced with one as long as its not intel or apple
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    shiet get on with the time grampa, we're using picoSD now
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Only the most important humans will have nvme installed in their head
  • _Shimon @ _Shimon:
    oh shit this exists
  • Arras @ Arras:
    wait this is where the shoutbox went?
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    What are everyone's
    thoughts on gpu prices atm?
  • Arras @ Arras:
    high
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    lol yes they are high, mate of mine just got a 1080 for $700 AUD
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    second hand which is nuts as when the 3070 came out here that's how much it was new at the time
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I
    f you have tech that can decently run games don't buy anything yet wait a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    I just got a core build upgrade, minus gpu due to price, will be running my GTX780 until I can afford an upgrade
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Prices are up because of bots and
    shortages it'll die down with a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    Yeah I imagine there will be a short period where prices are low then the next series will come out and low and behold have high prices again
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Today's games look just fine at 1080 with decent 60fos unless you have disposable income it's not really worth it
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Probably won't be that long until theirs 4k capable apus around $400
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: Probably won't be that long until theirs 4k capable apus around $400