(nearly) Complete newbie here wii 4.3e

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Jacklynne, Mar 26, 2012.

Mar 26, 2012
  1. Jacklynne
    OP

    Newcomer Jacklynne Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi everyone, I used to have a wii which I did chip, did the chip programming, made the programmer and soldered the chip in etc. I have been away from the wii scene for a long time now. I now have a black wii 4.3e. I would like to soft mod it to play backups from a usb hdd. I have no interest in homebrew, wii ware, virtual console or anything like that, I would just like to play backups from the hdd. I have read the modmii sticky thread for about 40 pages, I haven't tried to download it yet or anything. My worry is that i'm not sure if I need all the stuff that modmii gives options to install and I wouldn't know what to pick if it asks me questions as it seems now everything is priiloader, wadloader, bootmii 2,cios, nand etc..
    I hope you get the picture - I'm just completely lost as it all seems so much more confusing than soldering your pic chip socket in and programming the chip. I'd sort of like to know what I'm doing so that I'll also know how to undo it if I want to put the wii back to it's virgin state.

    It's just a pity I can't use the soldering iron on it anymore, and I've got spare pic chips :(
     
  2. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    Just do everything ModMii tells you to do. cIOS's are absolutely necessary.
     
  3. Jacklynne
    OP

    Newcomer Jacklynne Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, I assume a cIOS is a custom i/o system. But I would like to understand what modmii has built into it (priiloader etc) before I mod my wii. That way I will have more of an idea on how to fix it if it happens to go wrong due to a mistake I might make. It's generally better to have some idea of what you're doing before you start(if you see what I mean). I don't actually know what priiloader and bootmii 2 do(just for an example).
     
  4. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    Priiloader=Brick Protection. Turn your Wii on holding the reset button to access it. Can go straight to System Menu, HBC. Bootmii IOS and any other homebrew.

    How it works: Priiloader moves the System Menu and puts itself in its place. By default it "autoboots (automatically loads" the System Menu. That's why you have to hold reset.

    BootMii as boot2: Loads System Menu (Brick protection to be used with Priiloader). Can load HBC, System Menu, and other homebrew. Can also restore/backup your entire Wii.


    How it works: Right before the System Menu is loaded, there comes a thing called boot2. Bootmii replaces boot2 with itself.
     
  5. Jacklynne
    OP

    Newcomer Jacklynne Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you for that, if you have anymore info on some of these obscure titles can you let me know, i seriously appreciate it. There's nothing worse than not knowing what that piece of software/ plugin whatever does. I also take it that hbc is homebrew channel - which I assume is needed to run any custom software i.e. I need to have that going before a softmod will ever work. In other words if I want to run backups I have to have a hbc.

    Edited just to add that I don't even want to play software from different regions - just backups
     
  6. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    What else do u need to know about?
     
  7. Jacklynne
    OP

    Newcomer Jacklynne Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whoops - looks like you answered me while I was typing, there's more info (or confusion) in the above post :) The other thing that I would like to know is if I want to put the wii back into it's normal/virgin state how would I do it? It is possible I assume.
     
  8. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure you will ever ever want to?
     
  9. Jacklynne
    OP

    Newcomer Jacklynne Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No I'm not sure I would, but I would like the option to if I wanted to sell it.
     
  10. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    If you want to sell it, go into the Wii options and format the Wii System Memory.
     

Share This Page