NDSi/XL force update

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by speleo, Apr 13, 2010.

Apr 13, 2010

NDSi/XL force update by speleo at 12:00 AM (3,134 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. speleo
    OP

    Newcomer speleo Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Can Big N force a firmware update to your DS, or does it have to be done manually via the setting menu. I was thinking of downloading some DSiWare to my DSiXL, but was just wondering about the possibility of them not working in the future without an update, or them being a method of forcing an update, which I dont want of course.
    Thanks in advance.
     


  2. infinete

    Member infinete The Temp's cynic.

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    409
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Updates cannot be forced, you must manually download them. Although they may stop you from using the shop until you update, as for dsiware they will not force an update to play if you could play on a previous update. Maybe if you wanted to play online but I doubt that also.
     
  3. infinete

    Member infinete The Temp's cynic.

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    409
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well firmware 1.4 has been out for quite a while now, it would seem unlikely that the SCDS2 would be released to work only on 1.3 and below considering 1.4 has been out for a few months now (meaning a lot of people will be on it, possible even by default with the XL).
     
  4. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Forced installation of software is illegal. And that includes updates.
     
  5. mechagouki

    Member mechagouki Kill 'em all...

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    It's true, you have to agree to an End User License Agreement, Sony got in a whole pile of poo for installing DRM software on peoples computers without asking a couple of years ago.
     
  6. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Yah but they can pretty much force you by saying "You can't play this game til you update".

    Of course, you could always turn off wifi.
     
  7. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    But this thread is about previously downloaded DSiWare not working because of an update being available/downloaded.
     
  8. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    What part of "You can't play this game til you update" did you not get?
     
  9. gameguy95

    Banned gameguy95 Needs More Furries!

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Furrytown
    Country:
    United States
    i cannot believe people did not know that. [​IMG] if people like yaymii know that then obviously the big N knows it too
     
  10. MadClaw

    Member MadClaw GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Usa
    Country:
    United States
    I have parental controls on my dsi (parents -.-) so i cant update if i wanted too, (Yay me?)
     
  11. tRiBaLmUnKy

    Member tRiBaLmUnKy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    United States
    Your parents are.....RESPONSIBLE! That is a rare sight.
     
  12. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could always format the system. [​IMG]
     
  13. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    I think you need the password especially for that.
     
  14. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    But currently, the situation is "You can't download this game 'til you update".
     
  15. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
     
  16. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    True dat.
     
  17. Lakerfanalways

    Member Lakerfanalways GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    825
    Country:
    United States
    I went to my "System Update" for my DSi XL and I got a message saying there is a new update..thing is, I already updated the last time there was some update available..but it still says 1.4U..could it be that the update from last time never took effect, or is there a new update now? I just want to be sure before updating..thanks
     
  18. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It always allows you to go through the update process until it actually starts and realises there's nothing to update. The was a sort of mini-update released before; I don't know if you've downloaded that, but 1.4 is currently still the latest.
     
  19. Lakerfanalways

    Member Lakerfanalways GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    825
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah your right..it just said that the system is up to date..very strange how it always says there is an update even when there is none..thanks again for the info
     
  20. Salax

    Member Salax GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    United States
    You can call Nintendo and ask for the reset code [​IMG].
     

Share This Page