Hacking Nds lite will not turn on!

airrunner

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 10, 2009
Messages
77
Trophies
0
Location
United Kingdom-(Wales)
XP
311
Country
Hello everyone, first of all many thanks to all in advanced who kindly helps my ds diemma here hehe.
smile.gif


About 2 weeks ago i dropped my ds lite in the bath by accident
frown.gif
opps! But i have completely dried it out and unfortunately it will no longer work. Now the green light comes on when i turn it on for a few seconds and the bottom screen flashes for a second or two but that's it. Do i need to replace the hinge cable? as i read on a few places this was the answer?

Also could anyone suggest a good place i could purchase one from im from the uk.

Many thanks to you all!!
 

Jamstruth

Secondary Feline Anthropomorph
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
3,462
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
North East Scotland
XP
710
Country
Screen flash usually indicates a ribbon cable problem but considering you dropped it in the bath (seriously what were you doing in there?) anything could have blown from fuses to resistors to the top screen.
 

Depravo

KALSARIKÄNNIT
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
5,359
Trophies
2
Location
Purgatory
XP
4,149
Country
United Kingdom
Jamstruth said:
Screen flash usually indicates a ribbon cable problem but considering you dropped it in the bath (seriously what were you doing in there?) anything could have blown from fuses to resistors to the top screen.
Somebody told him he had to use 'clean' ROMs.
 

airrunner

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 10, 2009
Messages
77
Trophies
0
Location
United Kingdom-(Wales)
XP
311
Country
Jamstruth said:
Screen flash usually indicates a ribbon cable problem but considering you dropped it in the bath (seriously what were you doing in there?) anything could have blown from fuses to resistors to the top screen.

Yes somebody did tell me that it could be a ribbon cable issue. So do you believe it will be beyond repair then? is there any way of telling by just looking visualy? I was just chilling in the bath and my hands must have been slightly wet, it just slipped out of my hands.

Thanks!
 

Nitro Edd

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Messages
42
Trophies
1
XP
206
Country
New Zealand
I'm no expert but is definitely the ribbon to the top screen, as it's the bottom that flashes. If I were you I would open her up and take the ribbon out let it dry a lil more then put it back in.

and cause you live in the UK you could get it fixed from the console doc
http://www.consoledoctor.co.uk/

EDIT: on the console doc site it says £50 for water damage.
 

MilkPSP

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2009
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
17
Location
Up your Slot 2
XP
105
Country
United States
Depravo said:
Jamstruth said:
Screen flash usually indicates a ribbon cable problem but considering you dropped it in the bath (seriously what were you doing in there?) anything could have blown from fuses to resistors to the top screen.
Somebody told him he had to use 'clean' ROMs.
lol. i have the same problem, but i got a new ds. try getting a new ds screen. i think they include the rtibbon cable and cost $12.97 on DX if you are willing to stand thier incredibly slow shipping. *ahem*EZFlash 3in1 that took an month to come *ahem* anyway, with that also probably get a new battery because turning the DS on like that with it shorting out may cause battery damage, at least i think so (shrugs) anyway, I hoope you fix your DS
yaynds.gif
 

airrunner

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 10, 2009
Messages
77
Trophies
0
Location
United Kingdom-(Wales)
XP
311
Country
MilkPSP said:
Depravo said:
Jamstruth said:
Screen flash usually indicates a ribbon cable problem but considering you dropped it in the bath (seriously what were you doing in there?) anything could have blown from fuses to resistors to the top screen.
Somebody told him he had to use 'clean' ROMs.
lol. i have the same problem, but i got a new ds. try getting a new ds screen. i think they include the rtibbon cable and cost $12.97 on DX if you are willing to stand thier incredibly slow shipping. *ahem*EZFlash 3in1 that took an month to come *ahem* anyway, with that also probably get a new battery because turning the DS on like that with it shorting out may cause battery damage, at least i think so (shrugs) anyway, I hoope you fix your DS
yaynds.gif

Thanks alot guys i just purchased a top screen from sx now so with a bit of luck that might just fix it. Thanks alot for all the help guys you have been all extremely helpful
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I mean for 1st party routers iirc linksys use to support it
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    ahhhh that I have no idea
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    pretty cool though if so
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Or from what ive heard ways to set custom imgs for 1st party routers so locked down now days
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    OPNsense VM and specs and specs of system it's running on. https://imgur.com/a/S9wgGUD
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I've turned more features on in OPNsense lately and it's getting kind of high on RAM usage, I see. Probably bump that up to 4GB soon
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I wanna make a 8core router with support for 20gbps doesn't even sound that silly lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I only have 1 gig internet but internally I have 10 gig connectivity for everything on my lan lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    fiber connection from my desktop PC back to my core network switch
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    2 port HPE SFP+ PCIE NIC in my desktop and all of my servers
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    silly shit
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    eventually this desktop is going to act as a server too, just for the hell of it. Because this PC is WAY fucking overkill for how little I use it.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    And once I do that, my desktop OS that I interact with is just going to be a virtual machine and use GPU passthrough to connect everything
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Send it to me ffs
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    No because it's my desktop lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    The most use this PC is getting right now is 979 Chrome tabs open right now
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    This is my desktop there are many like it but it is mine alone
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Enabled PPPoE on router now no wifi connection lul
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    Anyone knows
    where is Juan?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Taken by the feet police
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    Horny jail?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It was a nationwide vote
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    That does look good
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: That does look good