NDS Lite Replacement Top Screen Discoloration?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Spartan117H3, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. Spartan117H3
    OP

    Member Spartan117H3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    I've received two screens from DealExtreme. The first screen had a huge clump of dead pixels so I got a replacement. However, upon installing and testing both screens, I noticed that the top screen is immensely darker than the bottom screen. Can anyone explain why this is happening? Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
    First Screen With the Dead Pixel Clump:
    [​IMG]
    Screen Replacement:
    [​IMG]
    So far, I've soldered on the speakers, they work perfectly, but the screen is still dark.
     
  2. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    The backlight could be dead. Or some wire may have come loose.
     
  3. DCG

    Member DCG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    it indeed looks like the cable is not connected properly.
     
  4. waffle1995

    Member waffle1995 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    if you don't want you ds anymore. i buy it for 20-30 bucks.
    crappy deal but it better than nothing
     
  5. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Uhh, he just bought a new screen, so I suppose he wants to keep it...
     
  6. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,623
    Country:
    United States
    Disconnect and reconnect, make sure that the cable is properly inserted and locked in place.
     
  7. Spartan117H3
    OP

    Member Spartan117H3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried that a few times. The problem is, it's happening to BOTH screens. Yeah, I noticed it probably had to be something to do with the connection because if I leave the clip semi open, the screen will be normal. I've also tried moving where I clip the cable down, but no luck.
     
  8. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,324
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i bought a new screen and the same thing happened on mine, dont think its that dark tho. i just live with it, if you tilt the DS more it looks normal, so the top screen is like 180 degrees to your body. thats how i usualy play anyway tbh
     
  9. tedmg09130913

    Member tedmg09130913 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    United States
    It will cost you about $23 to buy new screens from deal extreme. But if you buy the top and botom screens as a set then the brightness should match. Then you would simply need to adjust the brightness a bit higher for both screens
     
  10. Spartan117H3
    OP

    Member Spartan117H3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    Uhh no. Why would I get a screen when my BOTTOM screen works? A replacement screen should match the original. Adjust the brightness for both? So you're saying I should get two discolored screens, up the brightness, and live with the broken colors?

    I got this one: http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.3161 and it's nowhere near $23.
     
  11. Shorkio

    Member Shorkio GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    Your harddrive
    Country:
    Finland
    I had this problem too [​IMG]
    I got it fixed when I cleaned (or tried, I don't remember anymore xD) that brown thing end of cable.
    Have you tried clean contacts?
    [​IMG]
     
  12. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,324
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you mean like this? [​IMG]
     
  13. Spartan117H3
    OP

    Member Spartan117H3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    No, it's not purplish. Sorry, my camera kinda sucks so the pics are kinda "shaky" because of the bad focus. Anyways, here are 2 pics. I used Mario Kart for the game.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Spartan117H3
    OP

    Member Spartan117H3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    Update: I found out that it's not the screen, it's something with the motherboard. There's no way my third screen would do the same thing. I have a multimeter so I can test stuff, this also has a blown F2 but it has nothing to do with the screen because it happened recently. So yeah, anyone have any ideas on what it could be?
     

Share This Page