NAND permissions patching, I guess?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by codezer0, Nov 17, 2010.

Nov 17, 2010
  1. codezer0
    OP

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    This is strange. One of the very earliest things I did as far as soft-modding my Wii involved something called a NAND permissions patch, which then allowed me to be able to play more WiiWare games (including some that came from injected files). Well, now, it seems something must have "undone" this, because I'm starting to get an error saying "this title can't be played on this Wii console", with the games I've since backed-up and/or stored on my SD. So far it seems to be no problem with those that are on the main system menu already, but at this point it would be impractical (and I wouldn't have enough space) to copy over ALL of my WiiWare games (and still have room for saves, etc. that wouldn't be moved anyway).

    I'm guessing I need to "repatch" those NAND permissions, but is there a specific IOS('s) to look for?

    Any constructive help is much appreciated. [​IMG]
     


  2. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    You need to patch the system ios. Also, if you have done a system format the wads to to be reinstalled and then moved back to the sd card.
     
  3. codezer0
    OP

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Which one though? I'm running cIOSX 20b, (I think) hermes cIOS 5.0 (to-do-list is to upgrade to 5.1), and DarkCorp 1.1.

    System menu is 4.2, but I'd been soft-modded since 4.0.

    Then again, seems there's so many mod packages now, it's becoming damn hard to keep track of it all. [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  4. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    patch ios70-v6687 with all 3 patches
     
  5. codezer0
    OP

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    I hate to sound like a newb again, but it really has been a long time since I've done by one IOS at a time. I remember though, there was an app that I could use for this sort of thing, but I think I'd lost it. [​IMG] What would/should I use for patching the IOS then?

    Please forgive my ignorance, but it has been a while since I last had to worry about this sort of thing.
     
  6. thesund0g

    Member thesund0g GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    The Boonies
    Country:
    Antarctica
    MMM or Dop-Mii (non-Wiibrew-edition) can do the patching.
     
  7. codezer0
    OP

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Just googled, looks like the only one available to download is said Wiibrew edition. [​IMG]
     
  8. OriginalHamster

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,254
    Country:
    Chile
    If you are on 4.3 you need patch IOS80, I have it patched with Trucha Bug, NAND access.
    IOS70 on 4.3 is stubbed.
     
  9. borissaid

    Member borissaid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    use pimp my wii...that'll work.
     
  10. codezer0
    OP

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    I'm on 4.2, and according to dop-mii, IOS 70 is already stubbed. Huh?
     
  11. OriginalHamster

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,254
    Country:
    Chile
    That's the problem then, you need an operative IOS70 patched with Trucha and NAND permission. Download the previous version of IOS70 from DopMii, I think the version is that the Frog Mario said.
     
  12. borissaid

    Member borissaid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    what ios is the systemmenu using if ios70 is stubbed? (4.2 uses ios70). Sounds like you're on 4.3, in which case you would need to patch ios80.
     
  13. codezer0
    OP

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Now that makes me wonder how that could have happened.

    Pimp My Wii seems to have its own thing too of scanning and ensuring integrity of the IOS's; At least since I've a nand backup via bootmii, I'll give that a go.
     
  14. OriginalHamster

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,254
    Country:
    Chile
    I think you got a nice 4.2.5 firmware XD
     
  15. codezer0
    OP

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    I just checked the Wii settings again, and it says I'm on 4.2U.

    *EDIT*

    Well, this is annoying. Pimp My Wii has found some IOS's that appear to be outdated and lacking patches. No mention of IOS70 among them. But running its thing to install/patch these, and every single one thus far is failing its install.

    What should I do?
     
  16. borissaid

    Member borissaid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    do you have priiloader telling the systemmenu to use 249 instead of ios70? it can't run off of a stubbed ios.
     
  17. codezer0
    OP

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    I've... never used Priiloader. At most I've used Startpatch 4.2.3 to customize the Wii's startup (like skipping the health/safety screen and blocking disc updates).
     
  18. borissaid

    Member borissaid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    well it doesnt make much sense... you might be just as well off to update to the latest HBC (if you havent already) and then update to 4.3 and patch ios80 if you cant figure your current situation out.
     
  19. OriginalHamster

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,254
    Country:
    Chile
    Yeah, just join to the 4.3 club [​IMG]
     
  20. codezer0
    OP

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Homebrew channel auto-updates, right? If so, I'm on 1.0.8 for that already.

    PimpMyWii didn't work. After its failing to update/install the IOS's it thought were bad, it just seemed to be unable to do anything with any IOS's at all. Exited out before trying again (and potentially damaging something).

    Again, only download of Dop-Mii I could find was 14.2 (aka the Wiibrew edition). It tried, and failed, in downgrading IOS70.
     

Share This Page