N64 upscaling advice...

Discussion in 'Other Consoles & Oldies' started by steve2606, Aug 15, 2012.

Aug 15, 2012

N64 upscaling advice... by steve2606 at 2:49 PM (1,435 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. steve2606
    OP

    Newcomer steve2606 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    Hello,

    I have an old but decent LCD monitor, and I was wondering about connecting my N64 to it.

    After a bit of research, a few websites pointed towards this device:

    http://www.ambery.com/rgbcgatovgac.html

    The price isn't an issue, but the set up. In the diagram it shows that you can supposedly connect your old game consoles to your monitor using this box as an "upscaler", but judging by this diagram, I would need to somehow connect my N64 scart to the VGA connection in the back of the box? Do I need to get hold of another cable or something?

    http://site.ambery.com/webgraph/AV1-CablingSetup.gif

    I'm a bit confused how it works since I've never done stuff like this before.

    Could someone explain how I would go about setting it up? I don't want to waste money... :(

    Thanks!
     
  2. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    looks like you need a component cable which are very hard to come by, ($150 USD I mean :blink: ) [im not even sure if n64 can use component there is one for gamecube which uses the same video adapter]

    so your looking at $250 just to play slightly better looking n64 games

    imo forget this and stick with your current setup or just use and emulator

    as to why its so expensive I have no idea, ps2 and xbox component cables cost pennies in comparasion
    you would think some chinese factory would produce them and sell them for like $5-10 each
     
  3. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    you mean like this?
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Replacement-Composite-AV-cable-lead-for-Super-Nintendo-Gamecube-64-Snes-GC-N64-/221011773531?pt=UK_Video_Games_Cables_and_Adaptors&hash=item337554085b
     
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    thats composite (red, white, yellow), the device needs a component (red, white, red, green, blue) hook up
     
  5. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    i have a wii version, the connection to the console is slightly different i think
     
  6. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    yeah they wont work, completely different connector and pins

    I hunted for a gamecube component cable for a while until I saw the prices
    http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_trksid=p5197.m570.l1311&_nkw=gamecube+component&_sacat=0
     
  7. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The first link is a VGA box by any other name ( http://gbatemp.net/topic/325646-how-to-play-wii-on-an-external-monitor/ has a bit), that looks like it could be a nice one but $90 is a bit steep in 2012 for this sort of thing. The VGA thing should just be pins- VGA is not quite the same as component but there are a lot of monitors that will take a measure of it hence some of the xbox VGA adapter methods ( http://xbox.x-pec.com/vga/ ).

    I mainly came here to say you might be interested in- http://gbatemp.net/topic/324709-need-help-tracking-down-a-resistor/
     
  8. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Gamecube component is expensive because it has a DAC built in.

    N64 can't use component. Stock one can't even use RGB. Early ntsc models and the early french secam model can be modded for RGB easily and later models with a replacement DAC (link fast posted).

    VGA box says it can take RGBS (RGB with composite sync), so I would just RGB mod the console, then make a custom scart to d-sub to connect to box and all should work, if the specs of the device are true. To get component from an n64 you'd need to RGB mod it and then use one the various RGB to ypbpr convertors.
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page