N64 Emulator for DSTWO !?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by lolval, Aug 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Aug 5, 2010

N64 Emulator for DSTWO !? by lolval at 10:06 PM (28,686 Views / 0 Likes) 98 replies

  1. lolval
    OP

    Member lolval GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Brazil
    That's right! A group of programmers (four in total, and a designer), are doing a Nintendo 64 emulator for the DS, using DSTWO CPU. The project is called Dual64 and is a port of Daedalus (PSP). They formed a team called Komka, even has a website, they already have the DSTWO SDK.

    My personal opinion is that the emulator probably will not work, because the Daedalus emulates few games acceptable level, but let's wait and see, hopefully it works out.

    The site is dual64.webs.com
     


  2. ball2012003

    ball2012003 Newbie

    either your just lying or you put up the wrong site
    but im 99% sure your lying
     
  3. ThatDudeWithTheFood

    Member ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    Not lying I googled it and found some links
     
  4. MasterM

    Newcomer MasterM Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
  5. pikachu945

    Member pikachu945 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Country:
    Canada
    well I guess possibilities are endless with a DSTWO [​IMG]
     
  6. Vladimir

    Newcomer Vladimir Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Guadalajara, Mexico
    Country:
    Mexico
    That team is mostly formed by kids with no previous homebrew releases. Im pretty sure that N64 emulation on NDS is (99.9%) impossible, i mean, even profesional developers are having a hard time making special chipped SNES games work.
     
  7. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    No, there will be no N64 emulation until 3DS. And even that is a maybe.
     
  8. Gh0sti

    Member Gh0sti iOS Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,302
    Location:
    Inside you, all around you
    Country:
    United States
    im not going to shoot it down, it might be done, but idk if those kids can actually do it, i think some more professionals could do it better, however the cpu has a higher mhz than psp

    the future will only tell
     
  9. Scott-105

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I think it would be possible, just REALLY slow.
     
  10. DiscostewSM

    Member DiscostewSM GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,801
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    A port from the PSP version? Isn't that version using the PSP's hardware to render scenes? The DSTWO doesn't have a hardware renderer, meaning not only having to emulate it, but to render everything via software. It can't use the hardware in the DS because transmittance of data between the DS and the card is pretty bad, which is why the GBA emulator is strictly emulated on the DSTWO, and only the output of video and audio is transmitted.
     
  11. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Maybe, but the DSTWO is about as powerful as a Dingoo A320 (which has a CPU that is about 25-30Mhz more powerful than the PSP), so it might be possible.
     
  12. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    DSTWO does not have the same architecture than dingoo (Dingoo like PSP have MIPS CPU, DSTWO have an ARM9 CPU).

    And about thoses guys, they will fail for sure, they have zero to no knowledge in C++, and they plan to port daedalus?

    I guess they have taken the PSP source code, good luck to ENTIRELY port that code to ARM. [​IMG]

    They should have chosen at least mupen64, because if I remember well there is already an ARM port.


    EDIT: I was wrong, it's MIPS (logical since Iplayer was a mips cpu).
     
  13. hullo8d

    Member hullo8d GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    United States
    All this talk over the DSTWO's CPU being able to allow play of 5th generation games and completely ignoring the DS's GPU's power is getting annoying [​IMG]
     
  14. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    DSTWO has a MIPS cpu but its no where never powerful enough on its own to do the 3d in software so n64 emulation wont ever work at anywhere above 1-2fps and the idiots who started that project are 12 year olds with no idea what the fuck they are talking about.
     
  15. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i guess that means no n64 emu, i mean if this IS started by 12 yr old kids then i don't thinks its ever goning to be released

    if a experienced dev can't do it, then a bunch of 12 yr olds can't [​IMG]
     
  16. coolness

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Normatt strikes back xD
     
  17. Keylogger

    Member Keylogger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,604
    Country:
    France
    We can't emulate the SNES at full speed with sound for now...
    So forget it
     
  18. coolness

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    People are talking about N64 [​IMG] not SNES
     
  19. Keylogger

    Member Keylogger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,604
    Country:
    France
    Yes but how do you want to emulate the N64 if we can't have the SNES emulated correctly?
     
  20. coolness

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You can try to use a Snes Emulator?
    perfect for Acekard 2i
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page