1. HeyItsJono

    OP HeyItsJono Breath of Fresh Heir
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    I was wondering if there was any CIA that could run games at the higher N3DS clock speeds similar to the way Hans does. I'm not aware of any Hans CIA and it's a bit of a hassle booting into HBL every time I want to play Pokemon without 3D battle scenes lagging. Alternatively; is there any way to put Hans shortcuts on the EmuNAND homescreen?
     
  2. A_Random_Guy

    A_Random_Guy Officially That Dev
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    859
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Use NTR CFW and N3DS clock rate plugin
     
  3. Urbanshadow

    Urbanshadow GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,490
    Country:
    It doesn't make such difference in most games, but makes mh4 run very smoothly and that is really nice.
     
  4. HeyItsJono

    OP HeyItsJono Breath of Fresh Heir
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    Does NTR CFW work with unsigned CIAs? I'm looking to overclock the Star Sapphire romhack. I used to apply it via legit cart romfs/code patching with Hans but now I just run it via CIA from my home menu 'cause it's more convenient not having to have my Alpha Sapphire cart in all the time.

    I dunno man, personally laggy Pokemon battles really annoy me so overclocking ORAS makes me a happy camper.
     
  5. Urbanshadow

    Urbanshadow GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,490
    Country:
    Battles don't get any better thrust me. Already tried. That lag comes from the gpu and the very high poly models, not the cpu. If you put it in 3d, is even worse as it renders it twice.
     
  6. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,952
    Country:
    United States
  7. HeyItsJono

    OP HeyItsJono Breath of Fresh Heir
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    I've been running it via Hans for a while, and wasn't using Hans for a while before that, and I can definitely tell the difference. I mean, lag is still there but it's defs not as bad.

    Awesome, that worked great. Thank you! I don't suppose there's any way to set the N3DS clock speed as the default as opposed to running the NTR app and manually setting it every time I boot?
     
  8. perkel

    perkel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    Poland
    That doesn't make any sense. MH4U is title that natively uses n3DS hardware without any hacks (not only better framerate especially in multi but also better textures everywhere)

    edit:

    NTR CFW+1 from me. Very easy to work with.

    1. Install NTR .cia
    2. Install clockspeed plugin for NTR
    3. Launch NTR from home menu
    4. When game starts press X and Y at the same time to get into NTR menu
    5. Switch clocks as you see fit and quit B.
    6. Voila game on higher clocks AND it does count into Activity log (unlike hans) and game can be played like any other app from main menu unlike hans.
     
    Last edited by perkel, Jan 11, 2016
  9. Urbanshadow

    Urbanshadow GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,490
    Country:
    Yes of course it does something, but what baffles me is the enourmous poly count from some models. Even the n3ds with 2.5 times as much clock as the o3ds has still problems with them. I mean, a Miltank model has about 40K polys. That's insane.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Afaik, the mh4u only changes texture settings when loaded in n3ds and not cpu scaling, but you could be right. I feel it's lighter, but could be placebo.
     
  10. hacksn5s4

    hacksn5s4 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,332
    Country:
    would it be possble to overclock the cpu to more mhz then its deigned to
     
  11. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,952
    Country:
    United States
    nope. only 268 or 804 for New3DS.
     
  12. hacksn5s4

    hacksn5s4 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,332
    Country:
    whys that
     
  13. einhuman197

    einhuman197 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    983
    Country:
    Germany
    1 core= 268mhz. 3 cores= 804mhz. I is saved for system
     
  14. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,939
    Country:
    Norway
    No... that's not how it works. The cores are faster. Each core can go to 804mhz I believe, but games only use one core unless they're designed for the n3DS.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Speeds, Clock,