Hacking [Release] CPU Clock Configure Plugin for NTR CFW (New3DS Only)

cell9

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2014
Messages
228
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
950
Country
China
It was recently found that New3DS's CPU clock runs at 804MHz when running system menu or playing New3DS-only titles (i.e. Xenoblade), which is about 3x faster then Old3DS.
However, when running games for old3ds, New3DS will set its clock-rate to 268MHz and disable the additional 2MB L2 cache to simulate the Old3DS's behaviors.

This plugin allows you configure the cpu clock rate and enable the additional L2 cache, which could improve the performance of Old3DS titles running on New3DS hardware. From a simple test, the MGS3 game was more than 2x faster on loading scenes.
I haven't test this plugin on other games, please tell me if you have tried it.

Usage:
Copy cpuclock.plg to /plugin/home in the sdcard.
Boot NTR and start the game, after the Nintendo 3DS logo disappeared and game screen was displayed, choose the 'CPU Clock' item in NTR Menu.
Select the last configure for the best performance, the first one is the default configure for running Old3DS titles.

See Also:
http://3dbrew.org/wiki/Hardware
 

Attachments

  • cpuclock.zip
    5.3 KB · Views: 5,398

Arithmatics

I'll be holding on to you. ;}
Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2009
Messages
1,156
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
952
Country
Malaysia
Will test this as soon as I am able. But quick wuestion, wouldn't this obviously drain the battery faster? What about long term effects. Wouldn't it destroy the cpu faster too?
 

Duo8

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
3,592
Trophies
1
XP
2,368
Country
Vietnam
Will test this as soon as I am able. But quick wuestion, wouldn't this obviously drain the battery faster? What about long term effects. Wouldn't it destroy the cpu faster too?
Well I never heard any battery complaint from N3DS users.
 

Abcdfv

What comes around goes around.
Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2013
Messages
1,455
Trophies
0
XP
807
Country
United States
Will test this as soon as I am able. But quick wuestion, wouldn't this obviously drain the battery faster? What about long term effects. Wouldn't it destroy the cpu faster too?
No, it was designed to be run at that speed so it's not like it's over clocking.
 

Rj.MoG

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
377
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
1,454
Country
United States
I did a side by side on o3DS and n3DS on MGS and Pokemon Y/Omega Ruby. All 3 definitely run much perfectly smooth whereas they had framerate issues before that made them unenjoyable at times. 3D is also substantially improved because of the framerate.

EDIT: is a CIA release possible of this? or is there something prohibiting a CIA from being compiled?
 
Last edited by Rj.MoG,
  • Like
Reactions: webtoast

Duo8

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
3,592
Trophies
1
XP
2,368
Country
Vietnam
I did a side by side on o3DS and n3DS on MGS and Pokemon Y/Omega Ruby. All 3 definitely run much perfectly smooth whereas they had framerate issues before that made them unenjoyable at times. 3D is also substantially improved because of the framerate.

EDIT: is a CIA release possible of this? or is there something prohibiting a CIA from being compiled?
They work differently.
 

Columbo2811

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
1,399
Trophies
0
XP
1,064
Country
Might be a really stupid question Does ntr boot cia's. I've never had the need for ntr so don't no. If yes could the retroarch ps1 emulator benefit from this?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Adults have earned the nick name lil