My Wii needs to be updated - Twilight Hacked

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ritetub, Nov 15, 2009.

Nov 15, 2009
  1. ritetub
    OP

    Newcomer ritetub Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Australia
    So my Nintendo Wii has been hacked using the Twilight Hack. Now just today, I went and bought a new game (legit).

    When I start my game, it prompts me to update the Wii. I can't play the game without updating.

    What do I do?
     


  2. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Get the latest Gecko OS and run the game through it. It'll install the necessary IOS from the disc. Then you'll be able to run it from the disc channel like normal from then on.
     
  3. ritetub
    OP

    Newcomer ritetub Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Australia
    Sorry, I have to idea, whatsoever, how that is achieved.

    Could you possibly direct me to a tutorial?

    Is this compatible with the Homebrew Channel (Twilight Hack)?
     
  4. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
  5. ritetub
    OP

    Newcomer ritetub Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Australia
    Gecko OS elf on the link you provided does not download.
     
  6. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Worked for me.
     
  7. ritetub
    OP

    Newcomer ritetub Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Australia
  8. madcapslaugh

    Newcomer madcapslaugh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Country:
    Israel
  9. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, that's the one. Ignore the other stuff in the download and look for the folder that says HBC. That's the stuff that you want to put in the apps folder in your SD card.
     
  10. ritetub
    OP

    Newcomer ritetub Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Australia
    So I copy the folder in the HBC, right?

    Then, on Homebrew Channel, I install "Gecko". What happens after that? Do I play the game on "Gecko" or do I play it normally?
     
  11. ritetub
    OP

    Newcomer ritetub Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Australia
    Sorry for the bump.

    What do I do with Gecko? I play the game and it still tells me to install.
     
  12. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Then let it install. It ought to simply install the IOS that the game wants without applying the full update.
     
  13. ritetub
    OP

    Newcomer ritetub Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Australia
    OK, this is what it says when I say "Load Game" on Gecko.

    This Game Requires IOS 53
    Install IOS53-64-v4113.wad?

    Press A to Install or B to Cancel


    I press A, and my whole system freezes. What's happening?
     
  14. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Not a clue, to be honest. Does it freeze for a very long time? It could just be doing the install
     
  15. ritetub
    OP

    Newcomer ritetub Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Australia
    OK, I'll come back to you on that. How long should I wait before panicking?

    Here, I'll tell you what I've done:

    Downloaded Gecko192b.zip.

    Extracted to Gecko192b

    Opened folder HBC

    Copied folder (the one in the HBC folder) into SD card.

    Ran Gecko with Homebrew Channel.

    Chose Load Game.

    Pressed A to install IOS53-64-v4113.wad.

    Wii console freezes.

    UPDATE:
    I notice my Wii remote light has turned off.
     
  16. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I don't imagine it taking too long. Either way, I don't think panicking will be necessary. =P
     
  17. jefffisher

    Member jefffisher GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,239
    Country:
    United States
    just install ios53 with dopios and it should be good
     
  18. ritetub
    OP

    Newcomer ritetub Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Australia
    Here, I'll tell you what I've done:

    Downloaded Gecko192b.zip.

    Extracted to Gecko192b

    Opened folder HBC

    Copied folder (the one in the HBC folder) into SD card.

    Ran Gecko with Homebrew Channel.

    Chose Launch Game.

    Pressed A to install IOS53-64-v4113.wad.

    Wii console freezes.

    UPDATE:
    I notice my Wii remote light has turned off.


    @ jefffisher

    Sorry but I have no idea what you're talking about. I'm a complete noob.
     
  19. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Weird. Not sure why that's not working.
     
  20. ritetub
    OP

    Newcomer ritetub Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Australia
    Could it be the fact that my game is PAL? I'm just a noob, remember?

    The screen has been frozen for quite some time now. What is the safest way to shut down?
     

Share This Page