My Softmodded Wii doesnt read any disc please help!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by illmatic8582, Jul 26, 2009.

  1. illmatic8582
    OP

    Newcomer illmatic8582 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Hello I softmodded my Wii using this guide http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=168890, and it can no longer read any disc. Is there anyway to for me get my Wii back to it's original settings before I had done all of this or is it broken?
     


  2. jamisonf

    Newcomer jamisonf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Just follow the steps to softmod your wii but stop after you install the system menu, 3.2 4.0 whatever it may be... If it doesn't read disc's you own and you have preloader installed, try disabling all the features regarding region force's, etc... see if that works first, otherwise revert to the plain system menu like i mentioned above.
     
  3. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    More information please
    we havent got a clue what u messed up and u need to tell us. Were not psychic
     
  4. illmatic8582
    OP

    Newcomer illmatic8582 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I softmodded my Wii, and when I go to neogamma in the HBC, it does not recognize my backup. And When I play an official version of Wii sports, I get an error messege. It tells me to press the eject button and remove the disc.
     
  5. illmatic8582
    OP

    Newcomer illmatic8582 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    jamisonf, I did not install a system menu
     
  6. jamisonf

    Newcomer jamisonf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have preloader installed?
     
  7. illmatic8582
    OP

    Newcomer illmatic8582 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    yes I installed a preloader
     
  8. jamisonf

    Newcomer jamisonf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Go disable everything in the hacks menu of preloader, hold down reset while powering your unit on, disable everything in settings, hacks whatever, save settings go back, boot to system menu and try disc loading... it should work... if so go through and figure out which preloader setting is causing legit discs not to load, chances are you dont need the setting in the first place.
     
  9. illmatic8582
    OP

    Newcomer illmatic8582 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I went to the preloader screen and it just stays at a disclaimer
     
  10. asdf

    Member asdf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Don't you need DVDx to read backups?
     
  11. jamisonf

    Newcomer jamisonf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    I think your confused... im not talking about the preloader installer from the HBC.... Power your wii off, hold the reset button, dont let go and hit the power button, preloader should pop up, then follow the steps above... disabling all the options.
     
  12. illmatic8582
    OP

    Newcomer illmatic8582 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe this is it, I went to the systemmenu Hacks on my preloader just like you told me, and it says couldnt find hacks.ini neither on FAT nor on NAND!
     
  13. illmatic8582
    OP

    Newcomer illmatic8582 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I just put the Hacks.ini on and now I get a messege saying "hacks for your systemmenu (v449) were found
     
  14. jamisonf

    Newcomer jamisonf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, the hacks.ini should be on the root of your SD card. Go into preloader and disable everything and then try disc loading again...
     
  15. illmatic8582
    OP

    Newcomer illmatic8582 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    The only option I have at disabling something is the autoboot under the setting section of the preloader
     
  16. jamisonf

    Newcomer jamisonf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    What system menu are you running? 3.2, 4.0, 4.1? And what version of preloader? .28, .29?
     
  17. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,528
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    why fuck with shit if you don't know what your doing ?.......my wii is part of the org hack , I wasn't scared , nor did I have problems cause I read the instuctions , which weren't much at the time ....then again I guess it wasn't that hard either .......but me updating to 4.0 almost bricjed my shit , do to a lack of understanding .........so I suggest everyone read and re-read the read me file ......and for you people doing the read me files make them a little clearer
     
  18. illmatic8582
    OP

    Newcomer illmatic8582 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I am on firmware 4.1u and preloader .29
     
  19. jamisonf

    Newcomer jamisonf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Download the hacks.ini from the link below, its for NTSC wii's... put it in the main (root) directory of your SD card overwriting any old one then reboot your wii and make sure everything is disabled like i was saying.

    http://www.zshare.net/download/631694755b534aaf/
     
  20. illmatic8582
    OP

    Newcomer illmatic8582 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I just downloaded Softmii v2.1.1, should I just make my Wii into a virgin?
     

Share This Page