My Micro SD Card is very slow now.

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Pi3ce0fmind, May 31, 2010.

May 31, 2010
  1. Pi3ce0fmind
    OP

    Newcomer Pi3ce0fmind Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    So recently I was dumb and tried to use my 8GB Micro SD card on my XBOX 360. It made me reformat it. After that it became unusable on my m3 Real. So I went into Disk Utility (Mac OSX) and reformatted it to 1 Partition (Master Boot Record). It now works again, however it is very slow. It is probably three times as slow as it used to be when I copy files to it from my computer. What should I do? Can it be fixed, or do I have to get another card? What is a good card to get?
     
  2. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    Well when you formatted the sd card, you probably formatted it to something like FAT32, which in my experiance, not sure about anyone else, is slower for me then the standard FAT16, so that's probably the reason it's slow, if you have a pc back up the files, format to FAT, which is FAT16, try doing that.
     
  3. dsrules

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,300
    Country:
    format a 8gb micro to FAT??? lol

    try format it again in your Xbox 360 to change it to Xbox 360 compatible, then use the Xbox 360 to return it to normal
     
  4. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you have a PC, use the Panasonic SD formatter to reformat it. Otherwise try formatting it in a phone/ camera/ MP3 player etc.
     
  5. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada

    Okay well good point :/ anyways do what the poster above me said, go grab Panasonoc SD formatter, that should do it.

    And can you format it in the 360 to make it incompatible? Because I don't think you can :\
     
  6. Bently

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Seconded, although im just wondering what brand it is.
     
  7. Pi3ce0fmind
    OP

    Newcomer Pi3ce0fmind Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Its a Kingston. I got it off Newegg for like ten bucks a few months back.
     

Share This Page