My Micro SD Card has a problem

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by KingdomBlade, May 3, 2010.

May 3, 2010
  1. KingdomBlade
    OP

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    A couple of hours ago, I decided to switch my Acekard's Micro SD, but then, it got stuck on the loading screen. I tried my other MSD, and it worked fine. Then, I decided to plug my SD to my computer. I noticed it's name was Removable Disk instead of the name I gave it. Once I tried to open it, a message popped up saying "Please insert disk into Drive G:.". I tried to format it, but it said "There is no disk in Drive G:. Insert a disk and try again.". Next, I tried to use an error check, but once I pressed "Start", the error checking window disappeared. I think it's corrupted. I tried looking up a ton of stuff on the internet, but I can't seem to figure it out. I someone could find a way to fix the SD, it would be appreciated.
     
  2. Phr3d13

    Member Phr3d13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    Panasonic's SD formatter? Maybe try to clean the contacts? Or maybe the 'Shim' method will work for you.
     
  3. KingdomBlade
    OP

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    Tried Panasonics, I cleaned it a ton of times, and what's the shim method?
     
  4. Phr3d13

    Member Phr3d13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    take a piece of paper and wedge it in when you put the micro sd card into your AK, makes a better connection between the contacts.
     
  5. KingdomBlade
    OP

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    It's not the fitting of my Acekard, I'm pretty sure. It's because it was corrupted. If it's just a problem with my Acekard then my computer wouldn't have problems with it.
     
  6. scrtmstr

    Member scrtmstr GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    the Netherregions!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    clean the contacts with a soft cloth,
    try to be very gentil with your microsd when you insert it in your pc,
    make sure it's tight in your microsd adapter.
    Worst case scenario would be that you broke your card, but that's unlikely.
     
  7. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No it's not - I've had a similar problem, only with a Flashdrive. Nothing could fix it

    Tried 'Panasonic formatter', 'HP SD formatter' and 'Low Level formatting' (through windows 'CMD' box)

    I kept getting messages like 'No Disk inserted', 'Drive is Read only' & also lost it's name, contents etc (the only thing that it DID show was the letter 'P' of zero bytes long)
     
  8. shypanda

    Newcomer shypanda Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Orange County, CA/Bronx, NY
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried to format it through a camera/phone?
     

Share This Page